I was thinking about the rules covering side pots for all-in situations, from these guideline:
An all-in player shall gain or lose nothing from actions after they are all in.
The idea is that once a player is all-in, the game is effectively over for them, they can't increase their chances by other people folding. The idea is that the only way you should gain by folds is by contributing to the pot, but all-in players don't have to do this, so they shouldn't gain.
I'll illustrate with an example.
Players A, B and C.
A all in for $100 B + C both call.
Betting continues, B raises to $200, C calls $200, B raises, C folds..
In this case, B keeps their hand, because they've matched an all in player.
- A has the highest hand: A gets the $300 side pot, B gets the rest (normal).
- B has the highest hand: B gets the entire pot (normal).
- C has the highest hand: B wins C's contribution to the pot, which is all of the pot except A's $100. However, since C beat A and didn't fold to A, C gets A's contribution to the pot. C takes $100, B takes the rest.
What do people think? Is this a fairer way to deal with all-in situations?