Poker Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for serious players and enthusiasts of poker. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I played with my friends yesterday and run into the following situation:

player 1: 4 4

player 2: A 2

table: J J K K 2

Both players have two pairs: J J K K.

However, player 1 have one pair in hand. Does that count? I think player 2 wins because of higher card in hand, but the rulebook I have is not clear about this.

share|improve this question
The popular term for this situation is called "counterfeited": something which has value suddenly has no value due to the board making a better hand. – TTT Apr 13 '13 at 0:06
up vote 13 down vote accepted

Player 2 wins, best 5-card hand rule: JJKKA

share|improve this answer
Shouldn't it be KKJJA, with the higher pair listed first? – corsiKa Jun 10 '13 at 21:08
@corsiKa I don't think this matters, it's self-preference, as long as the idea is conveyed. – Theo Jun 10 '13 at 21:24

The highest 5 card hand, JJKKA beats JJKK4. The second four "doesn't play" because the pair of fours was superseded by TWO higher pairs. For the same reason, the two in player one's hand that creates a "matched pair" with the board, doesn't play.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.