Poker Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for serious players and enthusiasts of poker. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

First of all, watch this video;

I really don't understand why Friedman's hand called dead. He said "call" in his last second exactly but the man who has charge called "dead" his hand.

Is there any wsop rule to support this hand called "dead"? It looks like a valid "call" to me.

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

There was a lot of controversy around that hand. I think the official explanation from the floorman and supervisor was that as soon as the floorman said "one" the hand was dead. He said "hand dead" a second later, but the time was up when the said "one"....

I think this explanation is pretty thin. Friedman said "call" before the words "hand dead" were pronounced so he should have been allowed to make the call.

Here is a piece on Pokernews on the incident: http://www.pokernews.com/news/2010/09/the-wsop-on-espn-world-champions-november-niners-and-one-ver-8830.htm

share|improve this answer
3  
This was an absolutely terrible decision, and a pathetic excuse. The dealer looked like he was afraid to speak up and tell the floorman that Friedman had called, which he clearly heard if the floorman didn't. It's not the dealer's job to make decisions, but it IS his job to inform the floorman of all the relevant facts he may have missed, and he clearly failed. Too bad poker tournaments don't use "instant replay". – Lee Daniel Crocker Nov 17 '15 at 19:42
    
@Lee he? (the dealer looks female to me...) – Michael Nov 17 '15 at 22:11
    
Been a long time since I'd seen it, but I remember the important details. – Lee Daniel Crocker Nov 17 '15 at 23:00
3  
The pokernews article "confirms" that the hand should be dead when the count hits one. That's goofy. Why would "one" be the number where it's dead and not zero? One implies that he still had one second to act, and that's plenty of time to say call. – Chris Farmer Nov 17 '15 at 23:01

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.