Take the 2-minute tour ×
Poker Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for serious players and enthusiasts of poker. It's 100% free, no registration required.

First of all, watch this video;

I really don't understand why Friedman's hand called dead. He said "call" in his last second exactly but the man who has charge called "dead" his hand.

Is there any wsop rule to support this hand called "dead"? It looks like a valid "call" to me.

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

There was a lot of controversy around that hand. I think the official explanation from the floorman and supervisor was that as soon as the floorman said "one" the hand was dead. He said "hand dead" a second later, but the time was up when the said "one"....

I think this explanation is pretty thin. Friedman said "call" before the words "hand dead" were pronounced so he should have been allowed to make the call.

Here is a piece on Pokernews on the incident: http://www.pokernews.com/news/2010/09/the-wsop-on-espn-world-champions-november-niners-and-one-ver-8830.htm

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.