Poker Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for serious players and enthusiasts of poker. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Playing Hold'em poker and had a 10-J in hand, 9-Q-A on the table. Opponent held A-4 and won with a pair of A's. I thought I would win with the straight. Not so?

share|improve this question

closed as off-topic by Radu Murzea, Toby Booth Nov 16 '13 at 14:31

  • This question does not appear to be about poker within the scope defined in the help center.
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

In all forms of poker I know - you need 5 cards for a straight and it looks like you're playing hold em dice. – Robbie Dee Nov 7 '13 at 15:39
While more questions and hence more activity is desired on this site, there's no point having questions that can be answered with a 3-second Google search. – Radu Murzea Nov 11 '13 at 19:08
Clearly this needs more info to be answerable. Radu pretty much summed it up though. – Toby Booth Nov 16 '13 at 14:30
@RaduMurzea cancel my reopen request. – Jon Mar 9 '15 at 6:01

I don't know what a wheel of straight means, but not having a full straight of 5 cards in a row even 4 cards is worth nothing besides high Card. Your value was High Card A (which is on board already)

A straight means 5 Cards in a row, so you missed a 8 or a K.

He wins with pair of AA , that's correct.

A wheel or is the name for the low straight ( A-2-3-4-5 )

A steel wheel is the name for the lowest straight flush (A-2-3-4-5)

share|improve this answer
A wheel is a 5 high straight. A steel wheel is a 5 high straight flush. – Paulpro Nov 8 '13 at 8:04
thank you, I missunderstood that before. now its updated. – RayofCommand Nov 8 '13 at 9:41

You didn't have a straight at all. You need 5 cards in a row for a straight and you had 9,10,J,Q. Without an 8 or a K to finish it you had nothing of worth.

share|improve this answer

It is clear that your opponent has A,A,Q,9,4 But you only have A,Q,J,10,9

You missed the straight by one card. If you got K instead of 9, it will be a straight and you might won

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.