Take the 2-minute tour ×
Poker Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for serious players and enthusiasts of poker. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Playing online poker and had a 10-J in hand, 9-Q-A on the table. Opponent held A-4 and won with a pair of A's. I thought id win with the wheel straight. Not so?

share|improve this question
    
In all forms of poker I know - you need 5 cards for a straight and it looks like you're playing hold em so...no dice. –  Robbie Dee Nov 7 '13 at 15:39
2  
Stupid question. While more questions and hence more activity is desired on this site, there's no point having questions that can be answered with a 3-second Google search. –  Radu Murzea Nov 11 '13 at 19:08
    
Clearly this needs more info to be answerable. Radu pretty much summed it up though. –  Toby Booth Nov 16 '13 at 14:30
add comment

closed as off-topic by Radu Murzea, Toby Booth Nov 16 '13 at 14:31

  • This question does not appear to be about poker within the scope defined in the help center.
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

4 Answers

It is clear that your opponent has A,A,Q,9,4 But you only have A,Q,J,10,9

You missed the straight by one card. If you got K instead of 9, it will be a straight and you might won

share|improve this answer
add comment

When having a open-ended straight draw it doesn't mean you already won. It just means you have 8 outs to a straight, which is about 17% on each card of winning.

You don't also say the tone (same colored suits) in flop. A player with a flush draw has more outs (9) and about 20% to win your hand, even if it succeeds (straight).

Your raising pattern plays a big role. Did you raised correctly, trying to kick him out of his hilarious Ace-rag? Perhaps he had suited Aces and went for.. Too missing information, and the cards alone are only a small fraction of a Hand..

share|improve this answer
add comment

I don't know what a wheel of straight means, but not having a full straight of 5 cards in a row even 4 cards is worth nothing besides high Card. Your value was High Card A (which is on board already)

A straight means 5 Cards in a row, so you missed a 8 or a K.

He wins with pair of AA , that's correct.

A wheel or is the name for the low straight ( A-2-3-4-5 )

A steel wheel is the name for the lowest straight flush (A-2-3-4-5)

share|improve this answer
    
A wheel is a 5 high straight. A steel wheel is a 5 high straight flush. –  Paulpro Nov 8 '13 at 8:04
    
thank you, I missunderstood that before. now its updated. –  RayofCommand Nov 8 '13 at 9:41
add comment

You didn't have a straight at all. You need 5 cards in a row for a straight and you had 9,10,J,Q. Without an 8 or a K to finish it you had nothing of worth.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.