Take the 2-minute tour ×
Poker Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for serious players and enthusiasts of poker. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Which one wins? I had : 7 and 7 in my hand He had : 8 and J in his hand Cards on table : 8 8 7 2 2 , so who wins here?

share|improve this question

closed as off-topic by Radu Murzea Jun 5 '14 at 14:22

  • This question does not appear to be about poker within the scope defined in the help center.
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

This question is about an issue whose answer can be reached in at most a few minutes using a decent Internet search engine. –  Radu Murzea Jun 5 '14 at 14:22

2 Answers 2

In a full house, 888xx beats 777xx. That is, the higher set beats the lower without concern for what the pair is. The cards in the pair are only important if both players have the same set, such as player A's pocket being 8 2 and player B's pocket being 8 7. This would give player A 88822, and B 88877.

share|improve this answer

A full house consists of a 'three of a kind' and a 'two of a kind' (='pair'). The one with the highest 'three of a kind' would have the highest full house. An example: Consider you have A2 and the other player has KQ. The board is: AA2KK. That would make a full house for you: AAA22 and your enemy as well: KKKAA. Still your full house is better and will win.

On your example you got unlucky since your enemy needed the remaining 8 or a J or any pair on the board. The latter happened.

share|improve this answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.