Poker Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for serious players and enthusiasts of poker. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

please correct me if I am wrong:

No Limit Texas Holdem

5 players at the table. Each has bankroll of $1000. SB = $1. BB = $2.

  • Player1 = BTN
  • Player2 = SB
  • Player3 = BB
  • Player4 = UTG1
  • Player5 = MP1


  1. PL2 - sb - $1.
  2. PL3 - bb - $2.
  3. PL4 - call - $2.
  4. PL5 - call - $2.
  5. PL1 - call - $2.


I assume that if PL1 want to do minimum raise he must do:

PL1 - raise - $4.

and preflop must go another turn.

In poker rules is written: Minimum raise: In No Limit Hold'em, the raise amount must be at least as much as the previous bet or raise in the same round.

(On some websites about poker I saw that PL1 must do $5 raise. They say that at first he must put $1 to call and then $4 to raise. I think it is wrong. I do not provide links to that website to avoid spread of potentially incorrect information).

Am I right?

share|improve this question
up vote 4 down vote accepted

Since you didn't engage any money yet if you call you would do $2 but the minimum amount for a raise there is $4 since the $2 is from the max amount that was bet in the table and the next amount you can place is $2(max bet)+$2(BB).


Some casino's might have some rules and sometimes they aren't the same as in other casino's.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.