Sign up ×
Poker Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for serious players and enthusiasts of poker. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Let's say someone bluffs on the flop, turn, and river with "nothing", (maybe he has AK), and is called all three times, by someone who probably has a small pair.

In theory, he is supposed to show his hand to the caller. But can he just muck his hand and concede the pot ?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Although customary, you can muck before showing your hand. I've seen this happen on WSoP (two players in the hand, winner mucked his low pair, figuring he was beat, the winner showed high card and took the hand). The rules can and will vary with the Casino you are at or the people you are playing with. Always best to ask.

According to Robert's Rules for Showdowns:

  1. To win any part of a pot, a player must show all of his cards faceup on the table, whether they were used in the final hand played or not.

Note that it doesn't say you can't fold, only that to win you must show. Also in #8 is an interesting sub-section:

8... A player may opt to throw his hand away after all the betting for the deal is over, rather than compete to win the pot. However, the other players do not lose the right to request the hand be shown if he does so.

share|improve this answer
Concerning Roberts rule 8. It varies from card room to card room, even between shifts at the same card room, if a hand is dead or not if a request has been made to see it. Some people feel that asking to see a hand is rude, and believe that leaving the possibility of the player loosing the pot if he asks is legitimate. Other believe simply that a hand released forward is dead, and when seen because of request is still dead. Player beware when asking to see a hand, it could cost you the pot. –  Jon Jan 4 at 9:37

At showdown, the player in the earliest position must show his hand. After that, it will go clock-wise (just like on a flop, turn or river) and all the other players have the option to show or muck. If they muck, they can't win the pot.

So, to answer your question: if the guy with AK has the earlier position, he can't just muck and forfeit the pot. He MUST show his hand.

PS: I rarely show my hand if I see that I'm beaten. The only situation I can think of when unvoluntarily showing your hand can be a good idea is if your opponent(s) is/are on tilt. If you have the chip-lead, it's a good idea to win a pot and show that you weren't bluffing. They'll be 100000 % sure that you're bluffing a big percentage of your hands, but those legit hands that you've shown will be so well locked in their head, that it will be very hard for them to play their small stack against you. The blinds will kill them eventually and you'll go up the payladder :) .

share|improve this answer
Point taken. But does "earliest position" mean with reference to say, "under the gun," or with reference to the original bettor (meaning the bettor himself). –  Tom Au Jul 12 '12 at 14:54
I mean the classic version: Start from the button and go to his left and keep going till you find a player with cards. This guy is the one in earliest position. –  Radu Murzea Jul 12 '12 at 15:02
down vote because this comment is entirely wrong: "So, to answer your question: if the guy with AK has the earlier position, he can't just muck and forfeit the pot. He MUST show his hand." A player is never obligated to show a hand and they can concede the hand at anytime after the action is complete. Even a player asking to see a hand does not obligate them to turn it up, it obligates the dealer to turn it. –  Jon Jan 4 at 9:30

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.