Take the 2-minute tour ×
Poker Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for serious players and enthusiasts of poker. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In this situation, the blinds are 200/400 in a No Limit tournament. First to act raises to 1600, next player calls, small blind folds, and big blind goes all-in with only 1800.

Can the first player reraise the second player?

Basically, is the 200 extra that the big blind pushed all-in considered a raise opening up more rounds of betting or, is it too low to be considered a raise?

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

No. It is too small of a raise. Since the original raise was a raise of 1200 (1600-400=1200) the raise by the big blind would have to be at least an additional 1200 (i.e. 2800 total) to re-open the action to the original raiser.

share|improve this answer
    
I would like to add that, if the raise is at least a 2800 total, then side-pots are built. See here: poker.stackexchange.com/q/462/309 –  Radu Murzea Aug 29 '12 at 5:42
    
Note that in Limit games, there is a half-size rule where betting reopens if the all-in raise is at least half the minimum. This rule is sometimes wrongly applied to No Limit games by casino floors, which would wrongly allow further raises in your example had the big blind gone all-in for 2200. –  Loc Nguyen Aug 30 '12 at 12:03
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.