Take the 2-minute tour ×
Poker Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for serious players and enthusiasts of poker. It's 100% free, no registration required.
             Blinds are 300/600 in this game. Texas Hold'em No Limit., Seven players
  1. Player "A" first to bet goes all-in with a 600 + 150 raise for a total of 750.

  2. Player "B" second to play goes all-in with 600 + 50 raise for a total of 650.

  3. Player "C" third to play goes all-in with 600 + 300 raise for a total of 900.

  4. My question is; What is the proper bet for player "D" to call and raise a MINIMUM raise bet?

      Is it the 600 + 600 for a total of 1200?       or
      Is it the 900 from player "C" + minimum raise of 600 for a total of 1500?     
    
  5. Players "E" and "F" have yet to play.

share|improve this question
1  
Interesting question... –  Radu Murzea Sep 30 '12 at 7:29
add comment

1 Answer 1

Outside of casino-specific rules, this follows the standard full minimum raise rule for big bet Holdem.

Legal raises (all-in) below the minimum are treated as calls, although players to act face a different bet size than previously. Therefore, a minimum raise by player D presumed to have more than 1200 chips behind, is 1200.

If player C were to go all-in for 1199 total, player D could make a legal non-all-in raise to 1200, and player E would still have the option to raise. This seems strange at first, but a raise here is practically the same as a call, both of which retain open action, so the difference is only a technical one. Furthermore, such a raise is seldom advantageous to the raiser, as it tends to offer favorable odds to players yet to act.

EDIT: I haven't found a "Holdem Rules" that outlines this interpretation with more specificity than "What is a minimum raise?" However, some time ago I wrote this logic into a poker engine and verified against existing poker sites, to answer the question: Does a raise over a non-minimum raise go on top of the new facing bet, or does it go on top of the last minimum-qualifying bet? The answer is the latter.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.