Betting all chips at a betting round in a no limit game

learn more… | top users | synonyms

1
vote
3answers
45 views

Burning cards after all-in

When all players (or all except one) are "all-in" before flop, is necessary to burn cards also before turn and river?
1
vote
3answers
98 views

Why decide whether or not to run it twice based on what the opponent has?

In this clip, Sammy Farha and Patrik Antonius haggle over running it several times, and are reluctant to reveal their cards before having found an agreement. What is the reasoning behind this? If ...
0
votes
1answer
40 views

side pot scenario

What happens if we have 4 players at the table with the following bets -player1 10$ - all-in - Cards: 9d, 5h -player2 50$ - all-in - Cards: 9h, 4h -player3 100$ not all-in - Cards:2d,Kc ...
0
votes
1answer
63 views

Betting in all in situation

Imagine the following scenario: Player 1 bets 100 | Player 2 goes all in with 125 | Player 3 calls 125 Which are player 1 options ? Should he mandatory call 125 or can he still raise on player 3 ? ...
1
vote
2answers
82 views

Poker side pots and dead money

I m wondering something about side pots calculation. I m gonna explain with an example to make it clear: Player 1 (stack 100) | Player 2 (stack 100) | Player 3 (stack 25) --- Flop Player 3 goes all ...
3
votes
4answers
230 views

Pot Odds Paradox in Short Stack

Most if not all poker books/tutorials suggest that a good play is one that causes your opponent to do mistakes regardless of whether you end up winning the hand. For example, after the turn, you have ...
3
votes
4answers
241 views

Flush draw against very aggressive player

Don't have position. I'm the BB Got dealt: 5♥ 9♥ Aggressive player raises to $3 (as expected, he raises everything to $3 and plays just about every hand, with few getting to showdown). ...
5
votes
4answers
425 views

Trips vs flush draw on the turn

Assuming you had AK off suit in early position. BB is $6. You bet $30. Everybody folds to you, except one person in late position. Very loose aggressive player. He raises to $100. You call. Flop ...
3
votes
4answers
116 views

Term for when all players go all-in and show hands

Is there a term for when all players—or all but one player—have gone all in, and all hole cards are revealed before the remaining cards are dealt? I don't mean all players at the table ...
6
votes
2answers
345 views

Why some people all-in in the VERY first hand?

In some Facebook game, (in tournament game, where all player starts with the same stack), I always notice that in the VERY first hand (before the flop) , people blatantly all-in. Unfortunately,not ...
1
vote
0answers
122 views

Looking for mathematical paradoxes in Poker

I have been working on mathematical paradox, here is my blog. I am looking for paradoxical situations in Poker for a deep study. I found things, like Morton's Theorem, Implicit Collusion or "all in" ...
1
vote
1answer
113 views

How does All In work?

I'm a bit confused as I try to learn Poker as to how All-In betting works. When I play on thepokerpractice.com/ it seems when the AI does All-In if everyone else folds they still leave the table. Why ...
2
votes
2answers
190 views

All in rules in extreme cases

I'm planning to try some poker bot programming in NLH, so I must know all the rules. I got almost all covered, but some all-in situations are not very clear to me. So i ask: For all questions, BB=100 ...
3
votes
1answer
102 views

Showing cards with one player all-in but other player active

Situation: NLHE tournament, 3 players on turn P1 goes all-in P2 (has P1 covered) calls P1 does not realize that P3 (also has P1 covered) is still active and shows his cards, P2 does the same. ...
6
votes
1answer
131 views

What is the origin of the all-in bet?

When I was a kid (long ago in the previous century) and we played poker for fun or pocket change none of us knew of such a thing as an "all-in" bet. If somebody raised you and you didn't have the ...
5
votes
1answer
175 views

Raising and multiple All-Ins

After reading the following links about raising after an all-in in NLHE, there was still a scenario I wasn't sure about when multiple all-ins occur. Links: http://poker.stackexchange.com/a/2790/...
2
votes
1answer
115 views

All in when you are chip leader

Scenario: I am chip leader and say "All In". The only other player left in the game calls, even though he only has half the chips I do. All my chips are pushed in. I never measure my chip count ...
1
vote
1answer
37 views

All in situation with side pot [duplicate]

Following situation: Player 1: 100$ Player 2: 100$ Playe 3: 50$ Player 1 makes "all in" - all other players call. So I guess it's main pot: 150$ Side pot (for p1 and p2): 100$ Player 3 wins. ...
7
votes
3answers
2k views

All-in, pre-flop with AK… twice. Was that a bad decision?

I was playing against a player who was going all in almost every hand pre-flop. So after waiting until I had something that I thought could beat a random hand, I went all in with AKo. LOST to Qx. BUY ...
3
votes
3answers
98 views

Late live MTT: critique the play

Tourney background: it is a $65 buy-in at a local Midwestern state casino. Roughly 55 total entrants. Tournament is paying top 6 with 13 players remaining. 7 players at table blinds are 1k and 2k ...
3
votes
3answers
258 views

How to play two pairs when flop is connected?

Recently I had following hand. I was playing 6 players money 1/2$ NLH game I had K♥J♠ in SLposition. The player just before me made standard 3BB bet I called. Every one else folded. ...
7
votes
7answers
7k views

Do I have to show my hand in an “All-In” situation?

This question is concerning Texas Hold'Em rules. If my opponent goes "All-In" and I call with more chips than he does, do I immediately show my cards? During a recent game, my opponent called "All-...
3
votes
2answers
138 views

Run it more than once

I was told there is etiquette regarding running a hand more than once. Three times was suggested, so as to give your opponent an opportunity to not lose all his chips/get stacked. Three times gives ...
7
votes
6answers
2k views

Is it correct to go all-in when you have KK?

I was playing a cash game online and I got pocket Kings. If someone else keeps raising me pre-flop, should I go all-in or should I hold back in case he has pocket Aces?
3
votes
1answer
967 views

What is the minimum raise after an all-in?

I am hosting a home game (NL Texas Hold'em sit N go), and would like to make sure we get all the rules right, but there is one situation that I'm having trouble with. What is the minimum raise after ...
4
votes
2answers
458 views

calling all-in before the flop

Play Money tournament on Pokerstars, single table 9-max SNG NLHE. We're in the Heads Up, roughly equal stacks, with slight advantage towards Hero. Dealt to hero: AQd. Hero bets 3 (or 4? don't ...
2
votes
1answer
551 views

When to call all-in in heads-up game? [closed]

When to call all-in in heads-up game? if I've a A/4, and my opponent raise all-in, is a good idea call? PS: I have the same amount of chips than my opponent.
2
votes
1answer
145 views

Bet sizes in Limit Texas Hold'em in cases of a players all-in [duplicate]

I wonder what the valid bet sizes are in Limit Texas Hold'em in case of a players all-in. Consider the following example: 5/10 Limit Texas Hold'em game. Three players A, B and C. On the flop Player A ...
7
votes
3answers
211 views

Systematic all-in

This is a theoretical question, following what I have seen in some low blinds cash games. You generally cannot buy-in more than 100BB. Say at some point, you reached 10,000 BB. All you adversaries ...
4
votes
1answer
190 views

How do you calculate side-pots when all-in on ante? [duplicate]

Could you please help me, i would like to know how to calculate main and side pots in tournament, when stacks of players less then ante + one/all of this players on sb/bb. For example: Blinds 250/...
8
votes
1answer
153 views

Do previous bets count towards All-In raises?

Let's say 3 players are playing poker. Player A has $11, B has $10, C has $9 Player A opens by betting $3, leaving A with $8 Player B re-raises A "All-In" and C calls, going "All-In" as well. Player A ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Potential all-in rules, does any game use this rule?

I was thinking about the rules covering side pots for all-in situations, from these guideline: An all-in player shall gain or lose nothing from actions after they are all in. The idea is that ...