Rules about all poker game types such as cash games, tournaments etc.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

-1
votes
2answers
32 views

Why this pot is split? [duplicate]

Beside the flush, the bigger pair doesn`t count here ?
4
votes
1answer
75 views

Raising and multiple All-Ins

After reading the following links about raising after an all-in in NLHE, there was still a scenario I wasn't sure about when multiple all-ins occur. Links: ...
1
vote
1answer
41 views

What is an optimal ratio of buy-in stack amt. to blind amt. for a 2hr+ home game?

I am having a home NLH game with around 5-8 people that I want to have start at 10 and allow extra buy-ins until 12. How can I make the stacks not too deep and not too shallow to allow for the best ...
1
vote
3answers
56 views

Bar room free roll poker

So I work in a bar that does free roll poker, all good and well, but is there a way to weed out non buying customers from winning? Would that not fall under loitering for gambling purposes under the ...
0
votes
1answer
75 views

did we tie with a straight in texas hold'em? Or did I win?

A few co-workers and I were playing Texas Hold'em before work. On the table. There was the ten, jack, king and ace. I had a queen and another king. Another guy also had a queen, but a seven. I said ...
4
votes
1answer
106 views

Do all players have to show their hand if they check on the river?

I've noticed in a few Poker apps that they show all the cards on a final checked or called round. What is the law regarding mucking cards in this situation? This answer suggests everyone must show, ...
1
vote
2answers
127 views

Meaning of throwing or motioning with a card protector

What does it mean when a player throws his card protector to the center of the table when the action is on him during a tournament? Can this mean more than one thing?
-1
votes
1answer
88 views

Who won in this scenario? Both players have a pair

Me and a couple friends were playing poker and me and one of my friends had a pair. She had a pair in her hands and I had a pair using one of the cards from the flop. She had a Pair Of Q's, I had a ...
2
votes
3answers
136 views

Is the play dead if the player throws his cards face up before calling?

I went all in with one other player still to act. He threw his cards on the table face up got my reaction then said I call. Is this legal or is his hand folded?
3
votes
1answer
102 views

What's the minimum raise rules of NLHE

assume all scenarios below are 50/100 blind NLHE game scenarios: 1.The UTG goes all-in for 90, What's the minimum raise for UTG+1? 2.The UTG goes all-in for 120. What's the minimum raise for UTG+1? ...
0
votes
1answer
45 views

Two playes have same straight but one has two cards of it in hand [duplicate]

Table cards: 5:spades:6:hearts:7:spades:8:hearts:2:spades: P1 hand: 9:hearts: 6:spades: P2 hand: 9:diamonds: 3:spades: Both players have the same straight. Is this a split? Or does P1 win because ...
0
votes
1answer
61 views

Can I use the board's cards to have the best kicker?

I have 9,6. He has 9,7. The board is 4,4,10,9,3; suits don't matter for this hand. Is this a split pot using two pair, 4s and 9s with the 10 on the board as the best kicker for both of us? Or does he ...
1
vote
2answers
49 views

Two Pair - what beats what

In two pair - would a Queen Seven two pair, beat a queen three, two pair on the board. Is it both cards that count or, or just the highest card? I suppose the lowest card would not count in a two ...
2
votes
2answers
109 views

Mucking a winning hand

A player goes all in and gets one call so both hands exposed. After the board cards are dealt player A) calls a straight which is incorrect and mucks his hand and pushes his chips to player B) then ...
2
votes
1answer
83 views

Kicker cards - and splitting pots

I don't understand that when sometimes I play, instead of a pot being split as I would anticipate, one one player gets the full pot. Even if the best hand seems to be in the middle - i.e - a pair. ...
1
vote
1answer
64 views

The loser has a 2 pair over a one pair

How does rubina win ? How does inclinations lose the hand. Inclinations seems to have 2 pair vs one pair.
3
votes
1answer
53 views

Playing PL Omaha

The 5 cards on deck were - 6⋄ T♣ 6♠ K⋄ 4♠ I held a 6 and a king in my deck resulting in a full house hand. Bet all in, and lost to these opponents cards: ...
0
votes
1answer
73 views

Re-raise multiple times with differing amounts?

I need this question answered. No limit Texas holdem. 4 players $1/$2 blinds, Pre-flop, Player 1 button, Player 2 small, Ect. Player 4 raises to $4 (minimum raise, blind + $2), player 1 then ...
2
votes
1answer
56 views

Hands when playing Omaha

When playing Omaha If the community cards have 3 nines come up and I hold the 4th nine can I claim four of a kind?
4
votes
2answers
92 views

Question of declaration in Texas Hold em

If a player whom is considering a call says, "I want to call..." ambiguously as he is deliberating, is this considered a binding declaration in Hold em?
1
vote
3answers
605 views

Dealer cheating, why is rolling the deck bad practice?

Rolling the deck is the practice of not keeping the deck level at all times during a hand. Dealers in school, when they are breaking in, and as policy at any legitimate poker dealing job are told to ...
1
vote
1answer
76 views

Tournaments: how to determine rankings if multiple players are knocked out in the same hand?

Imagine this Scenario: We have a Sit N Go tournament with 10 people, and top 5 win money. In the very first hand, all 10 players go all in (with the same amount of chips obviously), and 1 player ...
3
votes
3answers
387 views

What happens if the last two live players fold at the same time?

In a no-limit hold em cash game, only two players remain live in the hand. Who claims the pot if both of these players muck their cards simultaneously? There are no verbal declarations - both players ...
2
votes
1answer
140 views

Must you show your cards if you are playing the board?

I was curious, if you do like a monster bluff in hold em' and your hand is literally the board, someone calls you and its time to show your cards. Do you legally have to show your cards in this case, ...
1
vote
1answer
68 views

Metrics on time to make decisions in live play?

Are there any metrics out there that determine the average length of time you have to make a decision in live poker? For example, let's take a tournament scenario, the antes and the blinds are out ...
3
votes
1answer
203 views

I lost and i dont get why, can any one help?

Was just playing some free poker and i don't get why i lost On the board there was a 9♣K⋄3♣4♠K♠. My opponent had Q⋄9♠. I had 9♥3♠ i have ...
1
vote
2answers
123 views

Is chopping the blinds accepted everywhere?

Chopping the blinds is a practice when everyone folds, the small and big blinds can mutually agree to take back their blind bets and move to the next hand. Is this a universally accepted rule? Or ...
5
votes
2answers
145 views

Is using American Sign Langauge against the English only rule?

On several occasions I have had two or more deaf people at the same table who use ASL during the hand. This has always sparked a little debate with staff and players on if this is allowed under the ...
1
vote
3answers
152 views

Bigger than Big Blind

I was playing in a live LV tournament. Blinds were $50 and $100. The hold cards were dealt but the player in the big blind position had yet to put in his blind. The small blind had put in $100 as he ...
4
votes
2answers
191 views

Multiple Chip Betting TDA rule 43

The other night at our NLH tournament (Las Vegas Casino)the betting went like this, 500 bet with one 500 dollar chip, a 500 dollar raise with 2 five hundred dollar chips, then one more raise with one ...
1
vote
1answer
283 views

Why did I lose with a flush in Omaha?

I was holding an ace in my hand during an Omaha game. There were four clubs on the board. Why did I lose this hand?
0
votes
2answers
127 views

Should this hold'em pot be split?

Say I have a 10 and Q. Opponent has a 10 and K. On the table there is 10 2 3 4 A Is this a split pot, as we both have a pair of 10s, and then we both use the Ace? Or does the tie-breaker always ...
2
votes
3answers
153 views

Is there a rule variation where only a single high card (not 2nd,3rd etc.) is used to resolve 2 flush hands?

We were playing Texas hold'em, but didnt clearly define which variations are acceptable in our game. Board: K♠ 7♠ 4♠ 3♠ 4⋄ Player 1 : 2♠ J⋄ Player ...
0
votes
1answer
115 views

5card Jacks or better

In a game of "jacks or better" to open, player A opens. He draws one card, then declares a win with a pair of sixes and a pair of threes. since he could have drawn one of the pairs, is his hand a ...
7
votes
3answers
383 views

Talking during a hand

I am a newbie and would like clarification on something if that is possible. It relates to a "house SNG". There were 3 players left and since the first 2 would get paid, it meant we were on the ...
1
vote
3answers
177 views

No-Limit Holdem Partial Raise Clarification

Referencing the following from this link http://www.rgpfaq.com/no-limit.html Now let us consider when a player has gone all in with a partial raise. Other players may not reraise on a player's all ...
3
votes
2answers
170 views

Facing an all in

1-2 NL. Player A bets $50. Player B goes all in for $76. Player C doesn't announce raise and bets $100. Is player C's bet just a call or a raise? If a raise, what is his min raise amount and why?
2
votes
1answer
77 views

all in covering a min raise

Player A initial raised the bet to 2200, player B re-raises to 5200 player C calls 5200. players D and E fold. Player A shoves all in for 8200. Does it open the betting round for player B to re-raise? ...
2
votes
3answers
507 views

Heads-up river, first to show mucks. Does second player have to show to win pot?

Situation in NLHE tournament: One player was betting on heads up river and got called. He mucked his hand and said "The pot is yours." Does the second player have to show his hand to claim the pot?
2
votes
1answer
197 views

Showing hand before call

Is it by rules (texas holdem) to show hand before calling fold or "all in" in situation when two players are in showdown ? In more details ... there are three players on the table, on river first one ...
3
votes
4answers
337 views

How is players raising each other indefinitely prevented?

If a player on a table raises, and when his turn comes next, someone has already raised more than him, then he has an option to raise again, right? So how is it prevented that two players keep ...
3
votes
2answers
203 views

Player with 3 cards in Texas Hold'em. Now what?

We had a situation pre-flop where the UTG+3, when at his position to act, as he went to look to his cards, there were 3 cards total. At this point, the UTG had already raised, and the UTG+1 went all ...
1
vote
1answer
106 views

How would the main and sidepot split in this situation?

This is suppose a timeslice stopped at the showdown, to calculate the pot split and side pots and all.. Player A: 200 staked, folded in earlier rounds (not eligible to win) Player B: 600 all in ...
3
votes
5answers
2k views

A2345 Straights permitted

Are A2345 Straights permitted? If so, where are they permitted/not permitted(full-tilt, pokerstars, wsop)? Edit: I can't find anywhere in the official WSOP rules where it says anything about it, the ...
0
votes
1answer
45 views

When is Automatic Re-buy Triggered?

In online poker rooms, before I sit down on a table, the buy-in popup appears. One of the options is to automatically buy-in once I'm out or low on chips. The question I have is, does this feature ...
1
vote
1answer
533 views

Texas hold'em: Why did I lose this hand?

I was playing Texas hold'em in WSoP 2008: Battle for the Bracelets. It came down to me and one other player, and I lost but I don't know why. Her hand: T♥J♥ My hand: J♠J♣ Flop: T♠Q♦K♣A♠A♦ It looks ...
6
votes
3answers
351 views

Are non-standard verbal declarations such as “same bet” or “I put you all-in” binding?

Obviously verbal declarations using standard language (e.g. "I bet $20") is binding in most casinos. However, sometimes players get a little "cute" with their choice of language. For instance, when ...
3
votes
4answers
479 views

Which hand wins: 23 vs. 9J on a AAKKQ board?

Ignoring any flush possibility, who would win? Board: AAKKQ Player 1: 23 Player 2: 9J I think both players split the pot in half because they both have two pairs and Q as kicker, but people keep ...
2
votes
2answers
150 views

Rank of two-pair hands for low in razz or 7-stud hi-low

Which hand would be ranked the lowest at razz or 7-card hi-low, two pairs of 2's and 9's, or two pairs of 4's and 5's ??
5
votes
4answers
399 views

Bet denied after having hit the table pre-river

First to bet after turn, bets pot ($1300) in PLO. One folds, last player takes a long time to call. Bettor immediately hits the table with his fist, nothing verbal. After the river, the bettor, ...