Rules about all poker game types such as cash games, tournaments etc.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

3
votes
2answers
277 views

Mucking a winning hand

A player goes all in and gets one call so both hands exposed. After the board cards are dealt player A) calls a straight which is incorrect and mucks his hand and pushes his chips to player B) then ...
2
votes
1answer
136 views

Kicker cards - and splitting pots

I don't understand that when sometimes I play, instead of a pot being split as I would anticipate, one one player gets the full pot. Even if the best hand seems to be in the middle - i.e - a pair. ...
1
vote
1answer
94 views

The loser has a 2 pair over a one pair

How does rubina win ? How does inclinations lose the hand. Inclinations seems to have 2 pair vs one pair.
3
votes
1answer
66 views

Playing PL Omaha

The 5 cards on deck were - 6⋄ T♣ 6♠ K⋄ 4♠ I held a 6 and a king in my deck resulting in a full house hand. Bet all in, and lost to these opponents cards: ...
0
votes
1answer
142 views

Re-raise multiple times with differing amounts?

I need this question answered. No limit Texas holdem. 4 players $1/$2 blinds, Pre-flop, Player 1 button, Player 2 small, Ect. Player 4 raises to $4 (minimum raise, blind + $2), player 1 then ...
3
votes
1answer
86 views

Hands when playing Omaha

When playing Omaha If the community cards have 3 nines come up and I hold the 4th nine can I claim four of a kind?
5
votes
2answers
108 views

Question of declaration in Texas Hold em

If a player whom is considering a call says, "I want to call..." ambiguously as he is deliberating, is this considered a binding declaration in Hold em?
2
votes
3answers
882 views

Dealer cheating, why is rolling the deck bad practice?

Rolling the deck is the practice of not keeping the deck level at all times during a hand. Dealers in school, when they are breaking in, and as policy at any legitimate poker dealing job are told to ...
2
votes
1answer
155 views

Tournaments: how to determine rankings if multiple players are knocked out in the same hand?

Imagine this Scenario: We have a Sit N Go tournament with 10 people, and top 5 win money. In the very first hand, all 10 players go all in (with the same amount of chips obviously), and 1 player ...
3
votes
3answers
977 views

What happens if the last two live players fold at the same time?

In a no-limit hold em cash game, only two players remain live in the hand. Who claims the pot if both of these players muck their cards simultaneously? There are no verbal declarations - both players ...
3
votes
1answer
274 views

Must you show your cards if you are playing the board?

I was curious, if you do like a monster bluff in hold em' and your hand is literally the board, someone calls you and its time to show your cards. Do you legally have to show your cards in this case, ...
2
votes
1answer
79 views

Metrics on time to make decisions in live play?

Are there any metrics out there that determine the average length of time you have to make a decision in live poker? For example, let's take a tournament scenario, the antes and the blinds are out ...
3
votes
3answers
3k views

Do you HAVE to show your cards in an all-in heads up situation?

Let's say we have a heads up game, or a hand in which only two players remain. After the... let's say turn, player one goes all-in and player two calls. Are there any official rules about showing the ...
4
votes
1answer
237 views

I lost and i dont get why, can any one help?

Was just playing some free poker and i don't get why i lost On the board there was a 9♣K⋄3♣4♠K♠. My opponent had Q⋄9♠. I had 9♥3♠ i have ...
2
votes
2answers
192 views

Is chopping the blinds accepted everywhere?

Chopping the blinds is a practice when everyone folds, the small and big blinds can mutually agree to take back their blind bets and move to the next hand. Is this a universally accepted rule? Or ...
6
votes
2answers
210 views

Is using American Sign Langauge against the English only rule?

On several occasions I have had two or more deaf people at the same table who use ASL during the hand. This has always sparked a little debate with staff and players on if this is allowed under the ...
2
votes
3answers
181 views

Bigger than Big Blind

I was playing in a live LV tournament. Blinds were $50 and $100. The hold cards were dealt but the player in the big blind position had yet to put in his blind. The small blind had put in $100 as he ...
5
votes
2answers
316 views

Multiple Chip Betting TDA rule 43

The other night at our NLH tournament (Las Vegas Casino)the betting went like this, 500 bet with one 500 dollar chip, a 500 dollar raise with 2 five hundred dollar chips, then one more raise with one ...
2
votes
1answer
433 views

Why did I lose with a flush in Omaha?

I was holding an ace in my hand during an Omaha game. There were four clubs on the board. Why did I lose this hand?
1
vote
2answers
176 views

Should this hold'em pot be split?

Say I have a 10 and Q. Opponent has a 10 and K. On the table there is 10 2 3 4 A Is this a split pot, as we both have a pair of 10s, and then we both use the Ace? Or does the tie-breaker always ...
4
votes
3answers
211 views

Is there a rule variation where only a single high card (not 2nd,3rd etc.) is used to resolve 2 flush hands?

We were playing Texas hold'em, but didnt clearly define which variations are acceptable in our game. Board: K♠ 7♠ 4♠ 3♠ 4⋄ Player 1 : 2♠ J⋄ Player ...
1
vote
1answer
122 views

5card Jacks or better

In a game of "jacks or better" to open, player A opens. He draws one card, then declares a win with a pair of sixes and a pair of threes. since he could have drawn one of the pairs, is his hand a ...
8
votes
3answers
656 views

Talking during a hand

I am a newbie and would like clarification on something if that is possible. It relates to a "house SNG". There were 3 players left and since the first 2 would get paid, it meant we were on the ...
2
votes
3answers
245 views

No-Limit Holdem Partial Raise Clarification

Referencing the following from this link http://www.rgpfaq.com/no-limit.html Now let us consider when a player has gone all in with a partial raise. Other players may not reraise on a player's all ...
4
votes
2answers
186 views

Facing an all in

1-2 NL. Player A bets $50. Player B goes all in for $76. Player C doesn't announce raise and bets $100. Is player C's bet just a call or a raise? If a raise, what is his min raise amount and why?
4
votes
1answer
120 views

Can there be more betting after an all-in covering a min raise amount?

Say player A initially raises the bet to 2200, player B re-raises to 5200, player C calls 5200, and players D and E fold. Player A then shoves all-in for 8200 total. Does this open the betting round ...
3
votes
4answers
972 views

Heads-up river, first to show mucks. Does second player have to show to win pot?

Situation in NLHE tournament: One player was betting on heads up river and got called. He mucked his hand and said "The pot is yours." Does the second player have to show his hand to claim the pot?
3
votes
1answer
358 views

Showing hand before call

Is it by rules (texas holdem) to show hand before calling fold or "all in" in situation when two players are in showdown ? In more details ... there are three players on the table, on river first one ...
4
votes
4answers
395 views

How is players raising each other indefinitely prevented?

If a player on a table raises, and when his turn comes next, someone has already raised more than him, then he has an option to raise again, right? So how is it prevented that two players keep ...
4
votes
2answers
291 views

Player with 3 cards in Texas Hold'em. Now what?

We had a situation pre-flop where the UTG+3, when at his position to act, as he went to look to his cards, there were 3 cards total. At this point, the UTG had already raised, and the UTG+1 went all ...
2
votes
1answer
131 views

How would the main and sidepot split in this situation?

This is suppose a timeslice stopped at the showdown, to calculate the pot split and side pots and all.. Player A: 200 staked, folded in earlier rounds (not eligible to win) Player B: 600 all in ...
4
votes
5answers
3k views

A2345 Straights permitted

Are A2345 Straights permitted? If so, where are they permitted/not permitted(full-tilt, pokerstars, wsop)? Edit: I can't find anywhere in the official WSOP rules where it says anything about it, the ...
1
vote
1answer
46 views

When is Automatic Re-buy Triggered?

In online poker rooms, before I sit down on a table, the buy-in popup appears. One of the options is to automatically buy-in once I'm out or low on chips. The question I have is, does this feature ...
2
votes
1answer
721 views

Texas hold'em: Why did I lose this hand?

I was playing Texas hold'em in WSoP 2008: Battle for the Bracelets. It came down to me and one other player, and I lost but I don't know why. Her hand: T♥J♥ My hand: J♠J♣ Flop: T♠Q♦K♣A♠A♦ It looks ...
8
votes
3answers
515 views

Are non-standard verbal declarations such as “same bet” or “I put you all-in” binding?

Obviously verbal declarations using standard language (e.g. "I bet $20") is binding in most casinos. However, sometimes players get a little "cute" with their choice of language. For instance, when ...
3
votes
4answers
518 views

Which hand wins: 23 vs. 9J on a AAKKQ board?

Ignoring any flush possibility, who would win? Board: AAKKQ Player 1: 23 Player 2: 9J I think both players split the pot in half because they both have two pairs and Q as kicker, but people keep ...
2
votes
2answers
220 views

Rank of two-pair hands for low in razz or 7-stud hi-low

Which hand would be ranked the lowest at razz or 7-card hi-low, two pairs of 2's and 9's, or two pairs of 4's and 5's ??
6
votes
4answers
416 views

Bet denied after having hit the table pre-river

First to bet after turn, bets pot ($1300) in PLO. One folds, last player takes a long time to call. Bettor immediately hits the table with his fist, nothing verbal. After the river, the bettor, ...
11
votes
3answers
49k views

Does the “top 5 cards” rule apply to a flush?

Okay, so the scenario is: 7♥ 8♥ 9♥ T♥ and 3♠ on the table Alice has a 5♥ Bob has a 4♥ Who wins? Both of them have a flush to 10, right? Does the sum of the entire 5 cards count in this case?
5
votes
2answers
199 views

What if a home game player is physically unable to deal? Skip or substitute?

A friend has hand tremors that make him unable to deal the cards. Otherwise he's fully able to play. How best to include him in a home game? It seems the two options are to skip his deal or have ...
-4
votes
1answer
260 views

Does a poker party always end with one player winning all the chips? [closed]

I've seen some guys playing Texas Hold 'em and each time it ends with one of them taking all the chips on the table. Does it always work that way, or are there some limits?
4
votes
3answers
143 views

Teach poker in a home game

I am a huge poker fan. I played on the Internet for a long time, before my free time completely ran out, however my love for poker didn't and I still enjoy playing the game, and I feel that the best ...
6
votes
1answer
773 views

What happens when you break the “No talk rule”?

I just read the Is trash talking legal in WSOP? question and answer and it made me wonder, what kind of punishment would you get for breaking the no talk rule? Also, I wonder, do casinos have similar ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Why Prahlad Friedman's hand called dead againist Ted Bort on WSOP 2010?

First of all, watch this video; WSOP ME Controversial Hand - Friedman vs Bort (2010) I really don't understand why Friedman's hand called dead. He said "call" in his last second exactly but the ...
8
votes
6answers
2k views

Do two or more players colluding against honest players gain on average more money, or not?

Lets say we have two or more players that collude together playing online poker against honest players. They have an obvious advantage of knowing about more cards that are in the play than they ...
6
votes
5answers
2k views

What happens if the card wasn't burned?

I understand the purpose of burning the cards - so that one cannot possibly use any marks to see the next card in deck. But in home games, sometimes the dealer will forget to burn a card on the flop, ...
5
votes
1answer
189 views

Does This Qualify As A Split Pot?

My partner and I are fighting about this. I had 10 and something, don't remember and he had 3 and 2. On the table : 10 J Q K A. I think I win with my 10 completing my straight but he said we had to ...
4
votes
2answers
691 views

Why is it forbidden to check-raise in some Casino?

I've heard that check-raising isn't allowed everywhere. What is the reason behind that?
8
votes
1answer
150 views

Do previous bets count towards All-In raises?

Let's say 3 players are playing poker. Player A has $11, B has $10, C has $9 Player A opens by betting $3, leaving A with $8 Player B re-raises A "All-In" and C calls, going "All-In" as well. Player A ...
3
votes
1answer
1k views

Potential all-in rules, does any game use this rule?

I was thinking about the rules covering side pots for all-in situations, from these guideline: An all-in player shall gain or lose nothing from actions after they are all in. The idea is that ...