Rules about all poker game types such as cash games, tournaments etc.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

2
votes
1answer
169 views

Showing hand before call

Is it by rules (texas holdem) to show hand before calling fold or "all in" in situation when two players are in showdown ? In more details ... there are three players on the table, on river first one ...
2
votes
2answers
253 views

In Omaha, Is it allowed to only show two holecards at showdown when claiming the pot?

I was watching Poker After Dark 2011, the cash game Pot Limit Omaha weeks. And it looks like once in a while the winner only shows the two cards making the best hand and not the two other cards. Is ...
2
votes
3answers
157 views

Texas Hold'em Rules [closed]

This is my favorite poker game. I never found a list of all the rules of playing. For example I play with my friends every weekend and in some cases we argue, if we where supposed to split or one to ...
2
votes
1answer
118 views

Must you show your cards if you are playing the board?

I was curious, if you do like a monster bluff in hold em' and your hand is literally the board, someone calls you and its time to show your cards. Do you legally have to show your cards in this case, ...
2
votes
3answers
119 views

Is the play dead if the player throws his cards face up before calling?

I went all in with one other player still to act. He threw his cards on the table face up got my reaction then said I call. Is this legal or is his hand folded?
2
votes
1answer
73 views

all in covering a min raise

Player A initial raised the bet to 2200, player B re-raises to 5200 player C calls 5200. players D and E fold. Player A shoves all in for 8200. Does it open the betting round for player B to re-raise? ...
2
votes
2answers
129 views

Rank of two-pair hands for low in razz or 7-stud hi-low

Which hand would be ranked the lowest at razz or 7-card hi-low, two pairs of 2's and 9's, or two pairs of 4's and 5's ??
2
votes
1answer
910 views

Potential all-in rules, does any game use this rule?

I was thinking about the rules covering side pots for all-in situations, from these guideline: An all-in player shall gain or lose nothing from actions after they are all in. The idea is that ...
1
vote
1answer
264 views

Why did I lose with a flush in Omaha?

I was holding an ace in my hand during an Omaha game. There were four clubs on the board. Why did I lose this hand?
1
vote
1answer
56 views

The loser has a 2 pair over a one pair

How does rubina win ? How does inclinations lose the hand. Inclinations seems to have 2 pair vs one pair.
1
vote
3answers
486 views

Are seat re-assignments random in multi-table tournaments?

During multi-table tournaments, players are re-assigned to other tables in order to keep minimum number of tables and to have them as balanced as possible. Are there any rules as to which table to ...
1
vote
3answers
142 views

Bigger than Big Blind

I was playing in a live LV tournament. Blinds were $50 and $100. The hold cards were dealt but the player in the big blind position had yet to put in his blind. The small blind had put in $100 as he ...
1
vote
1answer
103 views

How would the main and sidepot split in this situation?

This is suppose a timeslice stopped at the showdown, to calculate the pot split and side pots and all.. Player A: 200 staked, folded in earlier rounds (not eligible to win) Player B: 600 all in ...
1
vote
1answer
506 views

Texas hold'em: Why did I lose this hand?

I was playing Texas hold'em in WSoP 2008: Battle for the Bracelets. It came down to me and one other player, and I lost but I don't know why. Her hand: T♥J♥ My hand: J♠J♣ Flop: T♠Q♦K♣A♠A♦ It looks ...
1
vote
1answer
61 views

Tournaments: how to determine rankings if multiple players are knocked out in the same hand?

Imagine this Scenario: We have a Sit N Go tournament with 10 people, and top 5 win money. In the very first hand, all 10 players go all in (with the same amount of chips obviously), and 1 player ...
1
vote
2answers
108 views

Is chopping the blinds accepted everywhere?

Chopping the blinds is a practice when everyone folds, the small and big blinds can mutually agree to take back their blind bets and move to the next hand. Is this a universally accepted rule? Or ...
1
vote
1answer
549 views

Why Prahlad Friedman's hand called dead againist Ted Bort on WSOP 2010?

First of all, watch this video; WSOP ME Controversial Hand - Friedman vs Bort (2010) I really don't understand why Friedman's hand called dead. He said "call" in his last second exactly but the ...
1
vote
1answer
59 views

Who wins this game of high low Hurricane with wilds?

In a game of high low Hurricane with deuces and 2 jokers wild, who wins between one player with Ace joker and the other deuce deuce? Here are the rules we were going by: Players must declare ...
1
vote
2answers
40 views

Two Pair - what beats what

In two pair - would a Queen Seven two pair, beat a queen three, two pair on the board. Is it both cards that count or, or just the highest card? I suppose the lowest card would not count in a two ...
1
vote
1answer
64 views

Metrics on time to make decisions in live play?

Are there any metrics out there that determine the average length of time you have to make a decision in live poker? For example, let's take a tournament scenario, the antes and the blinds are out ...
1
vote
3answers
170 views

No-Limit Holdem Partial Raise Clarification

Referencing the following from this link http://www.rgpfaq.com/no-limit.html Now let us consider when a player has gone all in with a partial raise. Other players may not reraise on a player's all ...
1
vote
3answers
363 views

Dealer cheating, why is rolling the deck bad practice?

Rolling the deck is the practice of not keeping the deck level at all times during a hand. Dealers in school, when they are breaking in, and as policy at any legitimate poker dealing job are told to ...
0
votes
2answers
120 views

Should this hold'em pot be split?

Say I have a 10 and Q. Opponent has a 10 and K. On the table there is 10 2 3 4 A Is this a split pot, as we both have a pair of 10s, and then we both use the Ace? Or does the tie-breaker always ...
0
votes
1answer
61 views

Re-raise multiple times with differing amounts?

I need this question answered. No limit Texas holdem. 4 players $1/$2 blinds, Pre-flop, Player 1 button, Player 2 small, Ect. Player 4 raises to $4 (minimum raise, blind + $2), player 1 then ...
0
votes
1answer
112 views

5card Jacks or better

In a game of "jacks or better" to open, player A opens. He draws one card, then declares a win with a pair of sixes and a pair of threes. since he could have drawn one of the pairs, is his hand a ...
0
votes
1answer
45 views

When is Automatic Re-buy Triggered?

In online poker rooms, before I sit down on a table, the buy-in popup appears. One of the options is to automatically buy-in once I'm out or low on chips. The question I have is, does this feature ...
0
votes
1answer
26 views

Two playes have same straight but one has two cards of it in hand [duplicate]

Table cards: 5:spades:6:hearts:7:spades:8:hearts:2:spades: P1 hand: 9:hearts: 6:spades: P2 hand: 9:diamonds: 3:spades: Both players have the same straight. Is this a split? Or does P1 win because ...
0
votes
1answer
47 views

Can I use the board's cards to have the best kicker?

I have 9,6. He has 9,7. The board is 4,4,10,9,3; suits don't matter for this hand. Is this a split pot using two pair, 4s and 9s with the 10 on the board as the best kicker for both of us? Or does he ...
-1
votes
5answers
193 views

Inactive player problem: Where should the money be distributed in this situation?

Immagine the situation: Texas Holdem, No Limit. 5 players at the table. At some point in the betting, Player 3 makes a raise and suddenly leaves the table. So, betting may looks like this: Player 1 ...
-1
votes
1answer
60 views

Who won in this scenario? Both players have a pair

Me and a couple friends were playing poker and me and one of my friends had a pair. She had a pair in her hands and I had a pair using one of the cards from the flop. She had a Pair Of Q's, I had a ...
-4
votes
1answer
144 views

Does a poker party always end with one player winning all the chips? [closed]

I've seen some guys playing Texas Hold 'em and each time it ends with one of them taking all the chips on the table. Does it always work that way, or are there some limits?