Rules about all poker game types such as cash games, tournaments etc.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

0
votes
1answer
21 views

Eliminating two players from a four-hand hold'em play

A four-person hand, say Alice (Button), Bob (SB), Carol (BB) and David, ends with Bob and Carol eliminated. Who will have the button in the next hand and how blinds will be posted among Alice and ...
0
votes
3answers
70 views

who wins if everyone has a pair

I've been playing poker with friends and by the end of the play when all 5 cards are face up, everyone reveals their hand but only one of their cards matches the table, who is the winner? Table ...
8
votes
3answers
27k views

Does the “top 5 cards” rule apply to a flush?

Okay, so the scenario is: 7♥ 8♥ 9♥ T♥ and 3♠ on the table Alice has a 5♥ Bob has a 4♥ Who wins? Both of them have a flush to 10, right? Does the sum of the entire 5 cards count in this case?
1
vote
1answer
101 views

Can I showdown early

I'm the last to act. I have pocket queens. First player bets 10, second raises to 30, the fourth raises to 70. I have 160 chips in front of me. I'm willing to go all-in. I decided to believe that ...
2
votes
3answers
93 views

Omaha: Interesting dealer mistake at showdown

Situation: Hero is out of position with KKxx against Villain in a local Omaha cash game. Play proceeds to river, and Villain bets to put Hero all-in. Hero suspects busted draw and calls. Hero ...
1
vote
2answers
130 views

All in rules in extreme cases

I'm planning to try some poker bot programming in NLH, so I must know all the rules. I got almost all covered, but some all-in situations are not very clear to me. So i ask: For all questions, BB=100 ...
10
votes
5answers
26k views

What is the“Top Five Cards” rule and how does it apply to splitting pots?

Before you answer the question I will give a scenario that confused me thus prompting this question. The other week I was playing a game and we had this scenario : 8 players - down to me and a pal ...
2
votes
4answers
651 views

Heads-up river, first to show mucks. Does second player have to show to win pot?

Situation in NLHE tournament: One player was betting on heads up river and got called. He mucked his hand and said "The pot is yours." Does the second player have to show his hand to claim the pot?
2
votes
1answer
75 views

Showing cards with one player all-in but other player active

Situation: NLHE tournament, 3 players on turn P1 goes all-in P2 (has P1 covered) calls P1 does not realize that P3 (also has P1 covered) is still active and shows his cards, P2 does the same. ...
2
votes
3answers
707 views

Dealer cheating, why is rolling the deck bad practice?

Rolling the deck is the practice of not keeping the deck level at all times during a hand. Dealers in school, when they are breaking in, and as policy at any legitimate poker dealing job are told to ...
-1
votes
2answers
54 views

Why this pot is split? [duplicate]

Beside the flush, the bigger pair doesn`t count here ?
1
vote
3answers
62 views

Bar room free roll poker

So I work in a bar that does free roll poker, all good and well, but is there a way to weed out non buying customers from winning? Would that not fall under loitering for gambling purposes under the ...
4
votes
1answer
130 views

Raising and multiple All-Ins

After reading the following links about raising after an all-in in NLHE, there was still a scenario I wasn't sure about when multiple all-ins occur. Links: ...
1
vote
1answer
57 views

What is an optimal ratio of buy-in stack amt. to blind amt. for a 2hr+ home game?

I am having a home NLH game with around 5-8 people that I want to have start at 10 and allow extra buy-ins until 12. How can I make the stacks not too deep and not too shallow to allow for the best ...
6
votes
5answers
2k views

What happens if the card wasn't burned?

I understand the purpose of burning the cards - so that one cannot possibly use any marks to see the next card in deck. But in home games, sometimes the dealer will forget to burn a card on the flop, ...
0
votes
1answer
85 views

did we tie with a straight in texas hold'em? Or did I win?

A few co-workers and I were playing Texas Hold'em before work. On the table. There was the ten, jack, king and ace. I had a queen and another king. Another guy also had a queen, but a seven. I said ...
4
votes
1answer
202 views

Do all players have to show their hand if they check on the river?

I've noticed in a few Poker apps that they show all the cards on a final checked or called round. What is the law regarding mucking cards in this situation? This answer suggests everyone must show, ...
1
vote
2answers
140 views

Meaning of throwing or motioning with a card protector

What does it mean when a player throws his card protector to the center of the table when the action is on him during a tournament? Can this mean more than one thing?
7
votes
6answers
2k views

Do two or more players colluding against honest players gain on average more money, or not?

Lets say we have two or more players that collude together playing online poker against honest players. They have an obvious advantage of knowing about more cards that are in the play than they ...
-1
votes
1answer
126 views

Who won in this scenario? Both players have a pair

Me and a couple friends were playing poker and me and one of my friends had a pair. She had a pair in her hands and I had a pair using one of the cards from the flop. She had a Pair Of Q's, I had a ...
2
votes
3answers
140 views

Is the play dead if the player throws his cards face up before calling?

I went all in with one other player still to act. He threw his cards on the table face up got my reaction then said I call. Is this legal or is his hand folded?
3
votes
1answer
108 views

What's the minimum raise rules of NLHE

assume all scenarios below are 50/100 blind NLHE game scenarios: 1.The UTG goes all-in for 90, What's the minimum raise for UTG+1? 2.The UTG goes all-in for 120. What's the minimum raise for UTG+1? ...
6
votes
2answers
1k views

How many chips do you have left?

In a live poker tournament, the opponent asks how many chips I have left to. Do I have to count my chips and answer his question? Is it poker etiquette to answer the question? Is it OK to just show ...
0
votes
1answer
61 views

Two playes have same straight but one has two cards of it in hand [duplicate]

Table cards: 5:spades:6:hearts:7:spades:8:hearts:2:spades: P1 hand: 9:hearts: 6:spades: P2 hand: 9:diamonds: 3:spades: Both players have the same straight. Is this a split? Or does P1 win because ...
0
votes
1answer
75 views

Can I use the board's cards to have the best kicker?

I have 9,6. He has 9,7. The board is 4,4,10,9,3; suits don't matter for this hand. Is this a split pot using two pair, 4s and 9s with the 10 on the board as the best kicker for both of us? Or does he ...
1
vote
2answers
53 views

Two Pair - what beats what

In two pair - would a Queen Seven two pair, beat a queen three, two pair on the board. Is it both cards that count or, or just the highest card? I suppose the lowest card would not count in a two ...
2
votes
2answers
139 views

Mucking a winning hand

A player goes all in and gets one call so both hands exposed. After the board cards are dealt player A) calls a straight which is incorrect and mucks his hand and pushes his chips to player B) then ...
2
votes
1answer
96 views

Kicker cards - and splitting pots

I don't understand that when sometimes I play, instead of a pot being split as I would anticipate, one one player gets the full pot. Even if the best hand seems to be in the middle - i.e - a pair. ...
5
votes
4answers
402 views

Bet denied after having hit the table pre-river

First to bet after turn, bets pot ($1300) in PLO. One folds, last player takes a long time to call. Bettor immediately hits the table with his fist, nothing verbal. After the river, the bettor, ...
5
votes
1answer
162 views

Does This Qualify As A Split Pot?

My partner and I are fighting about this. I had 10 and something, don't remember and he had 3 and 2. On the table : 10 J Q K A. I think I win with my 10 completing my straight but he said we had to ...
1
vote
1answer
565 views

Texas hold'em: Why did I lose this hand?

I was playing Texas hold'em in WSoP 2008: Battle for the Bracelets. It came down to me and one other player, and I lost but I don't know why. Her hand: T♥J♥ My hand: J♠J♣ Flop: T♠Q♦K♣A♠A♦ It looks ...
2
votes
3answers
155 views

Is there a rule variation where only a single high card (not 2nd,3rd etc.) is used to resolve 2 flush hands?

We were playing Texas hold'em, but didnt clearly define which variations are acceptable in our game. Board: K♠ 7♠ 4♠ 3♠ 4⋄ Player 1 : 2♠ J⋄ Player ...
0
votes
2answers
132 views

Should this hold'em pot be split?

Say I have a 10 and Q. Opponent has a 10 and K. On the table there is 10 2 3 4 A Is this a split pot, as we both have a pair of 10s, and then we both use the Ace? Or does the tie-breaker always ...
3
votes
1answer
210 views

I lost and i dont get why, can any one help?

Was just playing some free poker and i don't get why i lost On the board there was a 9♣K⋄3♣4♠K♠. My opponent had Q⋄9♠. I had 9♥3♠ i have ...
4
votes
2answers
95 views

Question of declaration in Texas Hold em

If a player whom is considering a call says, "I want to call..." ambiguously as he is deliberating, is this considered a binding declaration in Hold em?
2
votes
1answer
59 views

Hands when playing Omaha

When playing Omaha If the community cards have 3 nines come up and I hold the 4th nine can I claim four of a kind?
3
votes
1answer
57 views

Playing PL Omaha

The 5 cards on deck were - 6⋄ T♣ 6♠ K⋄ 4♠ I held a 6 and a king in my deck resulting in a full house hand. Bet all in, and lost to these opponents cards: ...
1
vote
1answer
69 views

The loser has a 2 pair over a one pair

How does rubina win ? How does inclinations lose the hand. Inclinations seems to have 2 pair vs one pair.
0
votes
1answer
87 views

Re-raise multiple times with differing amounts?

I need this question answered. No limit Texas holdem. 4 players $1/$2 blinds, Pre-flop, Player 1 button, Player 2 small, Ect. Player 4 raises to $4 (minimum raise, blind + $2), player 1 then ...
3
votes
5answers
2k views

A2345 Straights permitted

Are A2345 Straights permitted? If so, where are they permitted/not permitted(full-tilt, pokerstars, wsop)? Edit: I can't find anywhere in the official WSOP rules where it says anything about it, the ...
8
votes
8answers
20k views

Is it possible to play for real money online in the US?

I know that after "Black Friday" many online poker sites didn't allow U.S. Players to play for real money anymore. I've heard/seen that it's possible to play via bitcoins and/or other proxy methods. ...
1
vote
1answer
72 views

Metrics on time to make decisions in live play?

Are there any metrics out there that determine the average length of time you have to make a decision in live poker? For example, let's take a tournament scenario, the antes and the blinds are out ...
1
vote
1answer
305 views

Why did I lose with a flush in Omaha?

I was holding an ace in my hand during an Omaha game. There were four clubs on the board. Why did I lose this hand?
1
vote
1answer
93 views

Tournaments: how to determine rankings if multiple players are knocked out in the same hand?

Imagine this Scenario: We have a Sit N Go tournament with 10 people, and top 5 win money. In the very first hand, all 10 players go all in (with the same amount of chips obviously), and 1 player ...
3
votes
3answers
531 views

What happens if the last two live players fold at the same time?

In a no-limit hold em cash game, only two players remain live in the hand. Who claims the pot if both of these players muck their cards simultaneously? There are no verbal declarations - both players ...
2
votes
1answer
175 views

Must you show your cards if you are playing the board?

I was curious, if you do like a monster bluff in hold em' and your hand is literally the board, someone calls you and its time to show your cards. Do you legally have to show your cards in this case, ...
6
votes
3answers
374 views

Are non-standard verbal declarations such as “same bet” or “I put you all-in” binding?

Obviously verbal declarations using standard language (e.g. "I bet $20") is binding in most casinos. However, sometimes players get a little "cute" with their choice of language. For instance, when ...
1
vote
3answers
158 views

Bigger than Big Blind

I was playing in a live LV tournament. Blinds were $50 and $100. The hold cards were dealt but the player in the big blind position had yet to put in his blind. The small blind had put in $100 as he ...
17
votes
2answers
20k views

Minimum re-raise in Hold em

What is the minimum re-raise in Texas hold em? I have heard both that you need to double the previous bet and that the minimum raise is the big blind. Which is it?
0
votes
1answer
116 views

5card Jacks or better

In a game of "jacks or better" to open, player A opens. He draws one card, then declares a win with a pair of sixes and a pair of threes. since he could have drawn one of the pairs, is his hand a ...