A portion of the pot which is unattainable by at least one active player, due to said player not having enough chips to call the full bet.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

4
votes
1answer
67 views

Texas Holdem - Order of reveal with multiple side pots?

Rough scenario (6 players): Flop: PlayerA is All-in ($50) PlayerB is All-in ($50) 4 others call. Turn: PlayerC is All-in ($100) PlayerD is All-in ($100) River: PlayerE (the dealer) ...
1
vote
1answer
74 views

How would the main and sidepot split in this situation?

This is suppose a timeslice stopped at the showdown, to calculate the pot split and side pots and all.. Player A: 200 staked, folded in earlier rounds (not eligible to win) Player B: 600 all in ...
0
votes
1answer
44 views

What happens (or is it possible) when there's sidepots that have no players competing for them?

I'm wondering let's say this situation: at the flop: (mainpot: 400) P1. All in 100 P2. All in 50 P3. Rise 200 P4. Call 200 If I'm right, that would give us: Mainpot: (400 + (50*4))-> ...
0
votes
1answer
31 views

Are sidepots created at each turn, or at the end of the round? [duplicate]

Im wondering, in hold'em, when sidepots are created/calculated, is it at the end of each player's turn or at the end of the round? thanks!
10
votes
5answers
3k views

How are side pots built?

While playing online, in a lot of situations side pots are built. This happens if one or more players goes all-in but I can't figure out the rules on which these side pots are built. The only thing I ...
11
votes
5answers
585 views

Why can't folded hands compete for sidepots?

I'm just wondering the rationale for preventing folded players from competing in sidepots. My feeling is that once a player has as much in the pot as an all-in player, they should be allowed to ...
4
votes
2answers
2k views

Complex split pot semantics for multiple All-In winners with differing amounts

I'm writing a Poker Server piece of software and well, I want it to be accurate... Basically I want to know what the correct way to deal with this following situation is: [ second round of betting. ...
3
votes
3answers
225 views

Ante + BB all-in, what can the BB win?

How are the pots computed when in a tournament deal when the big blind posts his full ante but then doesn't have enough to post his big blind? To take a concrete example, here's a hand history from a ...