A portion of the pot which is unattainable by at least one active player, due to said player not having enough chips to call the full bet.

learn more… | top users | synonyms

14
votes
6answers
9k views

How are side pots built?

While playing online, in a lot of situations side pots are built. This happens if one or more players goes all-in but I can't figure out the rules on which these side pots are built. The only thing I ...
13
votes
5answers
1k views

Why can't folded hands compete for sidepots?

I'm just wondering the rationale for preventing folded players from competing in sidepots. My feeling is that once a player has as much in the pot as an all-in player, they should be allowed to ...
6
votes
1answer
163 views

Order for revealing hands with multiple side pots in play

The scenario (6 players): Flop: Player A is all-in ($50) Player B is all-in ($50) 4 others call. Turn: Player C is all-in ($100) Player D is all-in ($100) River: Player E (the ...
5
votes
2answers
3k views

Complex split pot semantics for multiple All-In winners with differing amounts

I'm writing a Poker Server piece of software and well, I want it to be accurate... Basically I want to know what the correct way to deal with this following situation is: [ second round of betting. ...
4
votes
3answers
284 views

Ante + BB all-in, what can the BB win?

How are the pots computed when in a tournament deal when the big blind posts his full ante but then doesn't have enough to post his big blind? To take a concrete example, here's a hand history from a ...
4
votes
1answer
107 views

All-ins and folds: what happens to folded money?

I am trying to write a small, but complex, Texas Hold 'Em game in C++. I've come very close to the end. I'm at the part of determining winners, and payouts. Suffice it to say, I underestimated the ...
2
votes
1answer
109 views

Player allowed to play for main pot after folding during side pot action?

There are three players: A, B and C. A has $25, B has $50, and C has $100. A goes all-in, B and C call. Later in the hand, C makes B fold. Now, as B folded, will B be allowed to play for the main pot? ...
2
votes
1answer
132 views

How would the main and sidepot split in this situation?

This is suppose a timeslice stopped at the showdown, to calculate the pot split and side pots and all.. Player A: 200 staked, folded in earlier rounds (not eligible to win) Player B: 600 all in ...
1
vote
2answers
73 views

Poker side pots and dead money

I m wondering something about side pots calculation. I m gonna explain with an example to make it clear: Player 1 (stack 100) | Player 2 (stack 100) | Player 3 (stack 25) --- Flop Player 3 goes all ...
1
vote
2answers
97 views

Side pots without eligible winners

If player A and B have bet $1000 and C is all in for $500, and then player A folds, does B win the side pot of $1000 instantly or does he have to play it to the end first? If it's the latter case, ...
1
vote
1answer
51 views

What happens (or is it possible) when there's sidepots that have no players competing for them?

I'm wondering let's say this situation: at the flop: (mainpot: 400) P1. All in 100 P2. All in 50 P3. Rise 200 P4. Call 200 If I'm right, that would give us: Mainpot: (400 + (50*4))-> ...
1
vote
1answer
42 views

Are sidepots created at each turn, or at the end of the round? [duplicate]

Im wondering, in hold'em, when sidepots are created/calculated, is it at the end of each player's turn or at the end of the round? thanks!
1
vote
1answer
36 views

All in situation with side pot [duplicate]

Following situation: Player 1: 100$ Player 2: 100$ Playe 3: 50$ Player 1 makes "all in" - all other players call. So I guess it's main pot: 150$ Side pot (for p1 and p2): 100$ Player 3 wins. ...
0
votes
1answer
34 views

Side pot with fold

Player A all in for 40 Player B raise to 80 Player C raise to 200 Player B fold Player A wins hand Player A would get 120 ? Player C would get 200 ? Just checking? Is there some weird logic ...
0
votes
2answers
98 views

Who gets the side pot?

I was dealing in a live private game...NLHE... Three players were in a hand. One shortstacker (player3) was already all in preflop. So after the flop the other two players took action and built a side ...
0
votes
1answer
38 views

side pot scenario

What happens if we have 4 players at the table with the following bets -player1 10$ - all-in - Cards: 9d, 5h -player2 50$ - all-in - Cards: 9h, 4h -player3 100$ not all-in - Cards:2d,Kc ...