2
votes
2answers
104 views

Heads-up river, first to show mucks. Does second player have to show to win pot?

Situation in NLHE tournament: One player was betting on heads up river and got called. He mucked his hand and said "The pot is yours." Does the second player have to show his hand to claim the pot?
3
votes
2answers
150 views

Player with 3 cards in Texas Hold'em. Now what?

We had a situation pre-flop where the UTG+3, when at his position to act, as he went to look to his cards, there were 3 cards total. At this point, the UTG had already raised, and the UTG+1 went all ...
1
vote
1answer
416 views

Texas hold'em: Why did I lose this hand?

I was playing Texas hold'em in WSoP 2008: Battle for the Bracelets. It came down to me and one other player, and I lost but I don't know why. Her hand: T♥J♥ My hand: J♠J♣ Flop: T♠Q♦K♣A♠A♦ It looks ...
2
votes
1answer
164 views

Are non-standard verbal declarations such as “same bet” or “I put you all-in” binding?

Obviously verbal declarations using standard language (e.g. "I bet $20") is binding in most casinos. However, sometimes players get a little "cute" with their choice of language. For instance, when ...
3
votes
3answers
384 views

Which hand wins: 23 vs. 9J on a AAKKQ board?

Ignoring any flush possibility, who would win? Board: AAKKQ Player 1: 23 Player 2: 9J I think both players split the pot in half because they both have two pairs and Q as kicker, but people keep ...
3
votes
1answer
125 views

What if a home game player is physically unable to deal? Skip or substitute?

A friend has hand tremors that make him unable to deal the cards. Otherwise he's fully able to play. How best to include him in a home game? It seems the two options are to skip his deal or have ...
5
votes
3answers
683 views

What happens if the card wasn't burned?

I understand the purpose of burning the cards - so that one cannot possibly use any marks to see the next card in deck. But in home games, sometimes the dealer will forget to burn a card on the flop, ...
7
votes
1answer
114 views

Do previous bets count towards All-In raises?

Let's say 3 players are playing poker. Player A has $11, B has $10, C has $9 Player A opens by betting $3, leaving A with $8 Player B re-raises A "All-In" and C calls, going "All-In" as well. Player A ...
-1
votes
5answers
184 views

Inactive player problem: Where should the money be distributed in this situation?

Immagine the situation: Texas Holdem, No Limit. 5 players at the table. At some point in the betting, Player 3 makes a raise and suddenly leaves the table. So, betting may looks like this: Player 1 ...
7
votes
4answers
8k views

What is the“Top Five Cards” rule and how does it apply to splitting pots?

Before you answer the question I will give a scenario that confused me thus prompting this question. The other week I was playing a game and we had this scenario : 8 players - down to me and a pal ...
16
votes
1answer
11k views

Minimum re-raise in Hold em

What is the minimum re-raise in Texas hold em? I have heard both that you need to double the previous bet and that the minimum raise is the big blind. Which is it?
2
votes
3answers
129 views

Texas Hold'em Rules [closed]

This is my favorite poker game. I never found a list of all the rules of playing. For example I play with my friends every weekend and in some cases we argue, if we where supposed to split or one to ...