Tag Info

New answers tagged

1

The hand should proceed, and UTG+3's hand should be declared dead. The answers that say this is a misdeal are flat out wrong. So much action has already happened in the hand that it makes absolutely no sense to declare a misdeal unless you're using some very particular (and bad) house rules that everyone has had access to. In particular, in Robert's Rules ...


1

This is a miss deal. You can't just penalize the player who got dealt an extra card and continue play as if all is well. Once it has been declared a miss deal all players muck their cards (a few players usually complain because they have an ace/pair in their hand). Then the hand is re-dealt in the same position as if the miss deal didn't happen


1

Hero's flop bet is terrible, IMO. You made only bad arguments for betting on the flop. Do you want villain to fold on the flop? Really? why? Which hands do you want him to fold? pre-flop I'm almost always calling villain's 3bet (depends on table conditions, which you didn't specify). KQs is a good hand, which does well in this spot, both if more players ...


4

Should Hero have called villain's pre-flop raise, re-raised, or folded? The only thing you can do is call. You've labelled Villian as tight-aggressive and he's made a small reraise after you've opened under the gun. This is a fairly strong sign of strength. Let's look at your options: Jamming: KQs is doing badly against the average TAG players range in ...


1

You definitely should not "gamble" every time with a top pair but if you often play against "loose bots" you should be prepared to do it more often. For the specific hand I think the raise preflop is good. The only argument to make it bigger would be that you are out of position but even then I would not make it more than 0.7$ (0.6 is perfectly fine) On ...


2

I agree with Andrew on a theoretical level => if you have the pot odds you should call. I just wanted to put stress on the concept of pot odds. If you are on the flop and have alredy placed some of your money in the middle a coin flip is more than enough to call an all in because you more than double the call prise with a 50% chance. You can see a full ...


4

It all depends on pot odds. If you have better than 50% pot odds and have 50% equity versus your opponent's range, and you have the bankroll to handle the variance, then you should be looking to play for stacks. This will always produce a long term winning strategy, because you're getting >50% return on a 50% bet. Do you see why? The only situation where ...


2

If a player is regularly pushing on the flop with top pair, you should call him with an overpair, top pair and a good kicker, or anything better. With a flush draw and two overcards you have about 15 outs, giving you around a 54% edge ignoring any cards that improve their hand. It's a borderline case. It may be worth a call in case they're bluffing, and to ...


1

You played it fine on the turn if you know he's not going to fold. Looking just at the results, you played it awesome. Got the money in as a huge favorite... but yeah, I think you overplayed your hand because you are going to lose a lot of value when the guy folds drawing thin when he would call a smaller bet. One thing I would suggest is to make sure that ...


1

This is a very typical situation in microstakes where many players don't calculate their odds correctly or don't care and will go all the way to the river so the game becomes a Russian roulette. The flop was played correctly if you were against a good player. You raised the right amount to make calling with a straight draw unprofitable. Against a bad player ...


1

You overplayed your hand not because you went all in ( you should have done that agains a random oponent too). The only thing on my mind in this hand after he calls preflop and we see such a good flop would be how to get all the money in the middle.(Since he called preflop he doesnt have any 2 pair or AA in his range so we are behind only vs sets wich is ...


6

how would you play this hand knowing that the villain is an incredible calling station who will put his entire stack even on the 2nd pair? You did put all your stack when you were way ahead and he called: that is perfect! I'm not saying that's how you should always play KK like that: but versus an opponent which you know cannot fold, the goal is to ...



Top 50 recent answers are included