Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

8

This shouldn't even be a debate/question. It's a standard jam. There's nothing else to do here. Your hand is too strong, there are too many missed draws, and so on. You're truly, 100% overthinking this. You have a monster. Get it in. If Villian has a set or weird two-pair, rebuy and move on to the next hand. I've seen too many posts like this. I might be ...


7

It depends! What are your definitions of "conservatively" and "good hand" and "couple of chips"? And how long had you been playing at this game, allowing your opponents to develop an impression of your play? First, you can't make any generalizations based on this single hand. The fact that you got dealt AA doesn't entitle you to win a big pot. It could ...


5

The point of hold-em is that your hand is the best possible five-card combination from all seven cards. So, in this case, yes, it is a split pot. All players (as you describe them) have a 6-high straight. That's the best possible hand, so that's their hand.


5

Although physically the dealer is in place, the symbolic dealer is one of the players. They don't deal the cards but they have a "button" in front of them, indicating they are the dealer (and the blinds are the players to the button's left). After each hand, the (actual) dealer has the responsibility of moving the button to the next player. Often the ...


4

I think that you mucked. Now, that doesn't matter. I think calling the min-raise on the flop was wrong. I would have reraised it just to be sure. If he commits an other reraise, you know your kings are garbage. If he folds, good job, you took the pot. Calling there is very risky since villain will see weakness (calling is almost always weak). What will you ...


4

You were unlucky that Villain hits his flush on runner-runner. This frequently happen on micro-stakes where the play takes check-check and someones hits his K♠2♥ 2-pair on river and beat opponent's Q⋄Q♠ Your 3-bet raise PF was weak, you should 3-bet raise him $0.08 (3BB+1). $0.06 is a typical opening raise where no one limped ...


4

Well, IMHO, your analysis is pretty good. However, you see this kind of play all the time even in big tournaments. And in general, this play from the A8 is usually not a bad one. Whenever you have a super-short stack (really anything under 10 BBs) then they are capable of pushing with just about anything. In fact, there comes a time that it just doesn't ...


4

I Made a ruling on this exact situation. The pot was small (1/2 NL, $5), there was an ace high straight on board, the ruling was that the pot was split. The ruling was technically incorrect. I made the ruling I did because the pot was small, and it was not a big deal to rule this way in the best interest of the game. However I also announced to the table, ...


4

I would agree with some of the previous answers on this one, although it is easy to be influenced by seeing the outcome. Preflop: no problem with your check here, but let's start to think ranges right away. Villian is just calling in position. His range is wide but eliminates strong premium hands. Button is going to raise frequently with A10-AK and ...


4

A preliminary remark. This situation (full over straight) is very common in PLO. Thus playing PLO might be a good way to get used to it. At low limits, players tend to play according to their cards, with some wild decisions from time to time. Preflop. The button could have tried to steal the blinds, but checking in the BB with Q9 seems to be reasonable. ...


4

Note 1 in the article on Hold'em Odds elaborates on this a bit further: [Note 1] By removing reflection and applying aggressive search tree pruning, it is possible to reduce the number of unique head-to-head hand combinations from 207,025 to 47,008. Reflection eliminates redundant calculations by observing that given hands h_1 and h_2, if w_1 is the ...


4

When you see such post-flop aggression from an opponent, you want to take a look on post-flop stats like AF and specifically in what frequency this guy bets in every street. The VPIP/PFR you posted doesn't really describe his play. Although the sample you have is small; ~60 hands are not that descriptive for the play made by Villain. Personally, and because ...


4

Your flush beats his flush, because you make the better 5-card flush combination: your: A♥9♥7♥6♥5♥ his: A♥9♥7♥6♥3♥ As you see, you win because one heart of your hole cards is used in combination with the board, givin a better 5-card flush combination. He doesn't even use his extra ...


3

When the book was written limit hold'em was the dominate form of hold'em, with significant differences then the way the game is played today. No limit was a rare game. I worked at the mirage from 90 to 98, and dealt no limit once, to Stu Unger and another player. S&M at the time probably did not even consider much what the differences were, and if they ...


3

If on the button and nobody has called, try to steal the blinds, if in early and middle position and nobody has raised limp. If in early middle position and somebody raised fold. If in the blinds and somebody is raising very late or on the button, make a call. If somebody raises in early to middle position, this hand is a fold. Raising this hand in early ...


3

First of all, it seems you were in a very trappy table. The lads had lots of VPIP and some traces of PFR, which mean you were in a calling, weak table rather than a value bet table. When i'm in such a table, and especially when the action ended in a limp, my first thought is that my opponent can have literally anything, except premium hands. You would ...


3

The answer to this question addresses the 100 hands before you got your AA, not the AA itself. If you get AA, then usually cram and press pre-flop. Unless, of course, you feel unusually lucky and feel like playing a subtle hand and try to outplay your opponents - good luck. As Doyle Brunson put it, AA is a great way to win a small pot or loose a big one. ...


3

There's a couple of things that come into play here: 1 - I think you need to clarify the action. Did you raise or did you go all-in? There is a huge difference between those two actions, the latter makes your hand seem stronger than the former move. Your post says you just raised - what was the action after that? 2 - you have to look at it from his ...


3

This is a difficult one, they all clearly have a hand of some description. To be making these kind of bets they have to have some sort of pocket pair like AA, KK(not that likely since you have it, but still possible), QQ, JJ etc. They could also have hands like AKs-A10s and are just trying to spike an Ace. There are no danger cards on the board that scare ...


3

With the Villain playing fairly tight and limping frequently, I would suspect that he has been looking to set mine. He might be willing to call 5BB with any pocket pair (and a few other hands) since he's on the button, but from your description of his play I would say he most likely has a medium to high pocket pair 77+. His reraise on the flop makes me ...


2

• The minimum legal raise is equal to the previous raise amount. • If the previous all-in raise amount was less than the minimum raise, then the minimum raise is equal to the previous minimum raise. • If a player goes all-in for less than the minimum legal raise after the open raiser, and is called by at least another player, the open raiser will only be ...


2

I know this is coming a bit late but I did not see anyone comment on the specific size. Stealing the pot can be profitable so depending on the board you might be right on target with the steal attempt. 3x however will not be the right size in any situation. If you are aiming to make your opponents fold draws (again depending on board) 4/5 bet will most ...


2

A lot of this answer is going to depend on the other players and their skill level and how they see your bet. For example, I play a lot of live games in Las Vegas. I would never do this move because most tourists cannot fold top pair. They would always call something like this. Why? Because tourists don't fly in from around the world to not gamble with their ...


2

Bluffing out of position is a craps shoot at best. You can pretty much bet much less then you are thinking. Straight and flush draws become unfavorable at something less then a pot size bet head up, and I would think that the only place you might want to attempt this play is head up, unless you are picking up a bunch of weakness tells. The higher your ...


2

One of my favorite poker sayings is, "I guess the rabbit had the gun that time . . ." I think your play was just fine. You made the V take bad odds to get to the flush. So I wouldn't have changed a thing about your play. He laid you bad odds for what is, effectively 1.5 outs after the flop. Maybe your flop pot could have been bigger, but your bet was fine ...


2

One of the troubles with this hand is you can't narrow his range pre-flop. He's seeing a lot of flops anyway and since he's defending his blind his range will likely be even higher than normal. Pre-flop he can have almost any hand. FLOP He raises your strong looking 3/4 pot bet and you call. Since he is aggressive (from his pre-flop stats at least) it's a ...


1

Note that this type of ruling is going to be very dependent on where you are playing and the discretion of the floor staff. Having said that, there's really only one answer that makes sense since the pot has to be awarded, it can't just sit there! So, I think the ruling would be that both players share the hand on the board and that it's a split pot. ...


1

I don't see anything wrong with the way you played this hand, I think you did just fine. Your thinking is along the right lines - that flop is going to hit your opponents range a good part of the time. Fortunately for you, you have two pair, which is great! You check-raised on the flop and you got your opponent to call - that's a great move! Remember, the ...


1

In addition to the other answers, another solution would be for each of the players that mucked to whisper to the dealer the cards they had and the dealer to try to retrieve them from the muck. That way, the hands can be reconstructed and the pot can be awarded to the deserving player. It may not work, however, because the players may lie and say they had a ...


1

Yep, I agree with the other guys. I would've gone all in after the flop. You've got two pair at that point, probably either would've scared him out or would've had the same result anyway.



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible