Tag Info

Hot answers tagged

8

In Omaha Hold'em you have to use exactly two of the four cards from your hand and three on the board (since a poker hand is exactly five cards). This means you can only have the flush when you have two cards of the same suit in your hand and there are at least three cards of that suit on the board.


8

My guess is that player 1 just didn't want to lose. So he made up this rule to get what he wants. Again, this is just an educated guess. I've been playing poker for years and I've never heard of such a rule. There are no variations of Texas Hold'em that would allow this, as far as I know. Of course, in a home game, everyone is free to make up their own ...


6

The king on the river gave your opponent two pair, kings and nines. It also changed your best hand, giving you two pair, kings and nines. Your opponent had a queen kicker, which plays on this board and is the sole difference between your hand and your opponent's. In hold-em, the best hand is determined by the best 5-card combination of cards for each player ...


6

Both players have two pairs, as there is a pair of Kings on the board. Inclinations was ahead until the river paired the board. Rubina's best five card hand is: K♥K♠6⋄6♣T⋄ Which beats Inclinations best five card hand: K♥K♠6♥6♣5⋄ The two pairs are equal in rank, so the fifth card acts ...


5

I am angered enough at the other two answers here to move my comments to an actual attempt at an answer. I think they really miss the point. In short: This behavior from the big blind is illegal collusion and deserving of a penalty. The intent of the BB here is obviously to signal to the SB that he is no threat in the hand. That's a big deal. This is a ...


5

This kind of thing is irritating at best and angle shooting at worst. I suspect whether this is considered a binding action will depend on lots of context, such as the frequency he's been doing this and the intonation of his voice and the level of confusion of the other players in the hand after one of these incidents. Not all "I want to call" statements ...


5

He has TTT66, you have 666KK. A full house tens full of sixes (TTT66) beats sixes full of kings (666KK) in all variants of poker, not just PLO. This is because the tens are higher than the sixes, in this case.


5

In the example you give both players have 1 pair. Poker is the best 5 card hand. Your best hand would be 2,2,A,Q,6 your opponents best hand would be 2,2,A,Q,7. Therefore his 7 would "out kick" your 6. However, if the board was 2,2,3,3,Q You both would share the best hand 2,2,3,3,A and the pot would therefore be split


4

I'd say it's the players' responsibility to know the blinds. I think you were the one who raised here. I think a good dealer should help prevent these kinds of things, but ultimately it's you who should know the blinds. If in doubt, you should ask the dealer. You acted in turn, so I think your action should be binding. In theory, the BB hadn't actually acted ...


4

I Made a ruling on this exact situation. The pot was small (1/2 NL, $5), there was an ace high straight on board, the ruling was that the pot was split. The ruling was technically incorrect. I made the ruling I did because the pot was small, and it was not a big deal to rule this way in the best interest of the game. However I also announced to the table, ...


4

Yes. You must use exactly two cards from your hand to make your best 5-card poker hand, so if there were three 9's on the board your best hand would use the 9 and the highest ranked other card from your hand. For example, if you held KQ97 and the board were 999AJ, your best hand would use the 9 and K, for a best hand of 9999K. Of course, in this case the ...


4

The size of the last raise is the minimum size for the next raise. In the case you explained, player two at minimum must make it 20. That is the last raise was 8 dollars making it twelve to go, so the next minimum raise is eight more, making it 20 to go.


4

If both hands were face up on the table, the moment the last board card fell, the pot belonged to the player whose properly tabled hand was the best. The fact that he then turned it over and pushed his chips away is of no consequence--the game was already over, and those chips were his. If he had mucked his cards before showing them, that's different. But ...


3

The floorman will rule in the spirit of the game. Most of the time, that should mean that if a verbal action was in turn, and understood, then it is binding. If it is ambiguous, or denotes an action not possible, clarification may be called for. The precise words don't matter. I once ruled that the words "Back atcha" constituted a re-raise, because in the ...


3

Since everyone started the hand with the same chip count and the tournament pays 5 places, the total prize pool for places 2 through 5 should be combined and then divided equally among the 9 people eliminated in the hand. It doesn't matter whose hands were better than others among the losers of the hand. The only relevant fact is the chip counts at the start ...


3

The short answer is yes, always. Most poker rooms and rule books state plainly that you must table your cards face up to have any claim to a pot. Tabling your cards means placing them face up on the table, so that all players can see them. If you say my hand is the board and muck your cards your hand is dead and you will have no claim on the pot. related ...


3

your hand is: pair of Tens + Ace kicker 1 + Queen kicker 2 opponent hand: pair of Tens + Ace kicker 1 + King kicker 2 So your opponent wins. I really don't want to be rude, but please google it next time, I'm sure you would've found the answer.


3

UTG+1 must still min raise to 200 as the blind (100) is still the bet. Again, UTG has not met the min raise so you can still bet to 200. UTG+1 must raise to 340 as the last raise was of 120 (100 to 220) UTG+1 makes a min raise from 100 to 200 (raise size=100), UTG+2 must then at least match the last raise size and make it 300. If there was an all in from ...


2

IMHO there is a difference between etiquette, house rules and gamesmanship. I've yet see a house game, casino game or big tournament that has a rule against what the BB said. However, they might. But that would be a silly rule, IMHO. You are usually not allowed to talk about the exact cards in your hand, in the same sense that you shouldn't turn your ...


2

You hand is always the best five card hand you can make, so in this case: Your hand is : Pair of 10's with an Ace, Queen, and 4 Their hand is: Pair of 10's with an Ace, King , and 4 The King beats the Queen, so their hand is best; they win the pot. The 4 is also relevant since it is part of the best 5 card hand you can make. A tie occurs only if your ...


2

The short answer is no, there are no standard phrases that must be used in order for the verbalization of your action to be binding. (this may not be inclusive of all poker venues). Whenever you make an action in turn it is your burden to make that action in a clear unambiguous manner. There are is you describe some "cute players", but for the most part, ...


2

I think the player at your table was misinterpreting the rule. This is a raise. Rule 43 states: a multiple-chip bet is a call if there is not one chip that can be removed and still leave at least the call amount. To me, this says that in order for it to be considered a call, there cannot exist a situation where one chip is removed and the resulting ...


2

According to the World Series of Poker No-Limit & Pot-Limit rules page, yes, player B has the option to reraise because it is just enough to reopen the betting round. All raises must be equal to or greater than the size of the previous bet or raise on that betting round, except for an all-in wager. A player who has already acted and is not facing a ...


2

The player at your table is an idiot, obviously. Under his theory player B that raised the $500 bet to $1000 with 2 $500 chips should not have been allowed either since by removing one of his $500 chips wouldn't constitute a legal raise. He is completely misinterpreting the rule. The rule is simple. If you are facing a bet and throw in multiple chips, it is ...


2

This is not the first time I have asked this question. I think it is interesting and important to the poker industry. I had an email exchange with a friend of mine about a year ago about this. My friend was a poker dealer for about ten years and since has become an ASL interpreter over the last 20 years or so. We really did not draw a conclusion, here is our ...


2

Your opponent is entitled to know your stack size. You have a responsibility not to deceptively stack your chips, obscure them, or otherwise interfere with your opponent's ability to judge your stack. You do not, however, have to help him count. If he asks the dealer for a count, the dealer can and should count your chips, and you may not interfere (though ...


2

As a dealer at a local bar for 40/60$ tournaments, I would consider a player throwing in his card protector as a motion of betting... without any verbal statement, it would count as a bet or a call if another player has bet that street already... This can also be classified as an illegal forward motion especially if the player is looking toward his opponent ...


1

In addition to the other answers, another solution would be for each of the players that mucked to whisper to the dealer the cards they had and the dealer to try to retrieve them from the muck. That way, the hands can be reconstructed and the pot can be awarded to the deserving player. It may not work, however, because the players may lie and say they had a ...


1

Note that this type of ruling is going to be very dependent on where you are playing and the discretion of the floor staff. Having said that, there's really only one answer that makes sense since the pot has to be awarded, it can't just sit there! So, I think the ruling would be that both players share the hand on the board and that it's a split pot. ...


1

Alright so here is a very good example that I bet most of you would miss lets say this is the scenario. there are two people left in the hand (person L and person X) Person L has a K and a 5 Person X has pocket Q's The board is A,A,A,A,2 Now most people would say obviously person X wins right? S/He has the four of a kind aces plus his pocket queens; ...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible