Tag Info

New answers tagged

1

Id say no, but only because of special circumstances. Otherwise the rule would hold. The premise is that everyone at the table should be able to understand what is being said. With English being the most accessible language to the most people, that's why the rule denotes English. However, if everyone could use sign language then there wouldn't be a problem. ...


4

I'd say it's the players' responsibility to know the blinds. I think you were the one who raised here. I think a good dealer should help prevent these kinds of things, but ultimately it's you who should know the blinds. If in doubt, you should ask the dealer. You acted in turn, so I think your action should be binding. In theory, the BB hadn't actually acted ...


2

The player at your table is an idiot, obviously. Under his theory player B that raised the $500 bet to $1000 with 2 $500 chips should not have been allowed either since by removing one of his $500 chips wouldn't constitute a legal raise. He is completely misinterpreting the rule. The rule is simple. If you are facing a bet and throw in multiple chips, it is ...


0

In limit poker there is always a cap on the number of raises, typically three to four. In Big bet poker (IE no limit and Pot limit) there is usually a cap but not always. More caps with lower limits, less caps the bigger the blinds. The cap is lifted on the round after the players find themselves head up. The reason for caps is because it discourages ...


0

To look at it more simply you just think in terms of who can raise this partial raise and who cannot, and why this is so. Any player who has already passed in making a raise by making a call, cannot raise the partial all in raise. Any player who has not already called the original raise still can raise this partial raise. Consider the partial raise as one ...


0

Yes his hand is a legitimate opening hand thus the winner. Two pair is a legitimate opening hand, there is no practical way to determine if the player did not draw one card to a pair and kickers to make two pair. However we can safely assume that he was indeed drawing to two pair, if he drew one card than turned up the two pair at showdown. There are no ...


0

The short answer is no, there are no standard phrases that must be used in order for the verbalization of your action to be binding. (this may not be inclusive of all poker venues). Whenever you make an action in turn it is your burden to make that action in a clear unambiguous manner. There are is you describe some "cute players", but for the most part, ...


1

Almost all casinos have a rule that says you need to show two cards to win the pot. They also all have a rule that says the last live hand is the only hand that has claim to a pot. So the second player has claim to the pot rather or not he shows the hand. But also it is clear that the rule says at showdown he is required to show the hand. If one gets ...


1

If the card is known, you fix it, if no action has taken place, if action has taken place, you continue the round using the card. You might also consider just letting it lay and play always, because you can never be quit sure the dealer actually did not burn. Unless someone happened to see them not burn it is never really clear. Note if your on the flop ...


1

You can tell the folks outright next time that in standard Hold 'Em, only the best 5 cards are playable in any one player's hand. In this case, the board is showing the best 5 cards (Aces and Kings with a Queen kicker), as neither player 1 nor player 2 can make a better 5 card hand than what is showing on the board.


2

I think the player at your table was misinterpreting the rule. This is a raise. Rule 43 states: a multiple-chip bet is a call if there is not one chip that can be removed and still leave at least the call amount. To me, this says that in order for it to be considered a call, there cannot exist a situation where one chip is removed and the resulting ...



Top 50 recent answers are included