Hot answers tagged

7

The logic is that you can't win more against any other player than you bet, and when you fold you forfeit all bets you have made into the pot. For any given pot the best (or last, if everyone else has folded) hand that has an interest in that pot (has money in it and hasn't folded) wins that pot. Your amounts of 120 and 200 are correct. To break it down: ...


6

No, B folded. They are no longer in the hand. Cards are tabled, main pot of 75$ goes to A or C, depending on who has the best cards. If a side pot exists it goes to C.


4

No matter the subsequent actions of player 1, as soon as player 2 folds, player 1 should be awarded the side pot, even if his cards are never seen by anyone. Player 3 should never, ever be awarded the side pot, since he didn't have enough money in the pot to earn that from the other players. He was all in for less than the others had, so he should never be ...


3

I am a little confused about your described hand action. The fact that you use A, B, and C to denote players implies to me that they're acting in that alphabetical order. If A bets 1000 and B calls 1000, then C calls all-in for 500, there's no reason for A to fold, because he owes no additional money to stay in the hand. Can you please clarify that action? ...


3

Player three wins the money from the other players that match player three's money. In this case player three is going to get the main pot, which is seventy five. That is twenty five from player one, twenty five from player two and player three's original betting. Player one or two only wins the seventy five in the main pot if he can show down a better ...


3

In these types of all in situations, first identify the shortest stack that is all in--in this case 4k. The main pot will include up to that amount for each player that participated in the hand. If somebody puts in less than the shortest stack but ends up folding, that amount goes to the main pot. If anybody matches what the shortest all in stack put in, ...


2

You have 3 pots $40 - player1, player2, player3, player4 $120 - player2, player3, player4 $100 - player3, player4 Hand order 1 - Player1 Player2 tie 9933A 2 - Player3 Player4 tie 3322A Player1 and Player 2 split the $40 pot Player2 wins the $120 pot Player3 and Player4 spit the $100 pot


2

I find the simplest way to remember the side-pot rules (at least an equivalent version of them...your naming conventions may vary as TacticalCoder remarked). Whenever a player goes all-in a side pot is immediately created and the portion of any players total bet (past or future) in excess of the total bet of the all-in player becomes a bet in the side-pot (...



Only top voted, non community-wiki answers of a minimum length are eligible