We were playing poker with a few friends.

Once we were heads up, I went all-in. The other player said he's all-in. But didn't move any chips forward.

Right after that, he said: "Nevermind. I fold."

Is this allowed? I told him he might've gotten a reaction from me to make him fold.

But he argued that he didn't put in any chips, and that putting in chips is final. So I told him it's okay, as I don't know the rule. Based on his cards I would double up. In the end I still won though.

1 Answer 1


In poker, a "verbal declaration" is when you verbally declare what your move is going to be. Verbal declarations are binding.

He's all in and you should proceed. He was doing it to get a reaction or just messing about, either way its binding.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.