0

This question already has an answer here:

I play Hold'em with some guys from work and we had an interesting ruling I have a question about. The community cards are A,2,3,4,5 not suited. There are two players. Player one is holding A,8 and player 2 is holding 2,10. The ruling that i contested was that player 1 wins because the A beats the 2. This doesn't seem like the correct ruling imo. Isn't the A lower than the 2 in a 5 high straight? I'm very curious because this started an argument with me trying to explain this which almost led to a physical confrontation. I'd like to know I was at least right. :P

marked as duplicate by paparazzo, Jon, Herb Wolfe, Toby Booth Oct 12 '18 at 11:21

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

2

If you play Holdem and the community cards read A2345, than neither A8 nor T2 wins. Its a push. Both players make the same straight, 5-high. It doesn’t matter who holds what card in the holecards, unless one of you had a 6 in the hand that supercedes the “common straight”.

On a side note, when Ace is used in the 5-high street, it’s nokination is 1 and is actually lower than 2. That is, if it was important at all, which is not in this case.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.