If a player bets out of turn may the player that got bypassed by this action check then subsequently raise once action is back to that player?

1 Answer 1


As always, rules may vary by cardroom, but generally yes. The common rule is that an out-of-turn action is binding if the intervening action does not change (whether that action is a check or call). If an intervening player raises, then the out-of-turn player is off the hook and may take any action.

So in your scenario, player 1 checks, player 2 is silent while player 3 bets out of turn, player 2 can either object that it is his turn and make an action of his own, or he can simply check, in which case player 3's bet stands, and players 1 and 2 are perfectly entitled to raise when the action gets back to them.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.