I've just watched this hand. In the hand one of the players hits a royal flush on the turn in a heads-up showdown hand. The dealer does not proceed to the river because, at this point, it's obvious who has won.

Is this always the case? In other words: should the dealer continue dealing when it's obvious who's won before the river? Is there any official ruling/recommendations on this?

5 Answers 5


I'd say the entire board is dealt in all cases, but I don't see why that earlier stop may cause any problem.

There are no standardized inernational rules for poker, so I guess the house gets to choose

  • I don't see why that earlier stop may cause any problem - I'm not claiming it does. It's just that it's the first time I've seen a hand without the river that's all.
    – jannis
    Commented Oct 11, 2019 at 12:09
  • @jannis I'm not claiming you claimed it did :)
    – David
    Commented Oct 11, 2019 at 12:36
  • 1
    I'm not claiming you claimed it did We can do this all day long :)
    – jannis
    Commented Oct 11, 2019 at 12:44
  • 1
    I'm not claiming you claimed I claimed you did actually claim it. Time to stop it. Next reply I'll give up :)
    – David
    Commented Oct 11, 2019 at 12:53

In the video, the dealer does in fact, deal 5 cards. It has no effect on the game's outcome, but a pro dealer will pitch all the cards in a showdown. The main reason is to not confuse the eye in the sky, or a recreational player.

However, this dealer is making multiple mistakes. It's a case of a little knowledge being dangerous. She is clearly experienced, but not THAT experienced.

Of course, I'm only a dealer trainer in Las Vegas. It's a lost art form, there are almost no good dealers anymore.

Slide pitch. I guess this is OK in Europe? It's a cheating move, but this dealer isn't cheating. You should beware a slide pitch, because it is a way for journeyman cheats to deal 2nds.

Reverse Claw Grip. She is probably doing this because her wrists hurt. Very sloppy.

She drops the stub continuously.

I hate this European one at a time flop.

Poker should be banned in Europe until they get some sense. ;)

  • I would say she is dealing to procedures there. Which I agree are crap, especially the reverse claw and slide pitch.
    – Jon
    Commented Apr 16, 2020 at 1:35

In fact the dealer does have to deal all 5 cards.

Consider this:

Player A: 10dJd Player B: AcAs

Flop: QdKd2s Turn: Ad (Royal Flush Made) River: Ad

So, there are 2 Ace of diamonds in the deck and the hand is not valid. If they'd not dealt the river, Player B would have been cheated out of their money.


In principle, yes. The dealer should deal all five cards and that's what will happen in a serious event.

But anyway, what's the difference? Who cares?


In some countries is a must by law.

But actually for players is also interesting. Some situations completing at river might have jackpots, like straight flush vs quads or quads vs quads.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.