Given this scenario...

  • Current pot 1000
  • Player A bets 10
  • Player B calls
  • Player C raises to 100 (10 to call + 90 to raise)
  • Player A folds
  • Player B folds

What messaging should player C get? Should it be "you've won 1120" or "you've won 1030" because technically nobody called the 90 player C raised.

I've been discussing it with a friend who tells me that player C's chips were not added to the pot so should be 1030...but I'm not sure. I think any chips in-play are technically part of the pot.

1 Answer 1


An uncalled bet or raise is not part of the pot unless it is called. This pot is 1030. $1000 + Player A Bet $10 + Player B call $10 + player C call $10 = 1030. The 90 raise is not part of the pot until someone calls the raise.

  • 1
    Thanks for clearing that up. So I guess the messaging should be "you've won 1030" and the 90 just gets returned without mentioning it. A side question off this... does the value of the pot only get updated after the phase is finished? I'm assuming so but just want check.
    – Lewis Peel
    Jun 11, 2020 at 9:37

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge that you have read and understand our privacy policy and code of conduct.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.