While playing no limit Omaha we had a difference of opinion on the rules. The situation was:
- Player 1 showed 3 of a kind with their 2 selected hole cards
- Player 2 showed 2 pair with their 2 selected hole cards
- Unrelated player asked to see player 2’s mucked cards
- Unrelated player noticed player 2 had a straight if they used mucked cards
- The house said the “cards call themselves” and player 1 lost because player 2 had not technically moved the 2 unused (mucked) hole cards into muck pile
The question is are mucked cards in Omaha showdown live or dead. Once a player selects the 2 cards they want to play in the showdown, are the mucked cards still in play? In other words are you supposed to flip over all 4 cards and let the cards call themselves, or if a player picks a losing hand and shows only 2 cards are the 2 down cards still live?