i need some help

there were on the table staight - 8,9,10,J,Q i had J and Q and the other player had 7 and A

is this split ?


  • 2
    You could've tried googling the answer for 2 minutes... did you ? Commented Aug 22, 2014 at 17:30
  • Question closed because there was no proven research effort on the part of the asker. Commented Aug 24, 2014 at 8:39
  • @RaduMurzea Very rude.
    – Jon
    Commented Nov 4, 2014 at 22:25
  • Hi @user1693, Poker.SE is a good place to find out this stuff. Use the search box at the top the site first to see if your question has already been asked by someone else. In this case, using the search term "split pot" yielded at least two decent results, Does This Qualify As A Split Pot? & What is the“Top Five Cards” rule and how does it apply to splitting pots?. If you can't find the answers you need, please create your own question. I hope that helps :)
    – Toby Booth
    Commented Nov 5, 2014 at 1:38

1 Answer 1


Yes this is a split, since you always count the 5 best cards out of board cards + hand cards.

you would have a street from board and your other 2 cards don't care if they don't help to upgrade that street. IF you had a king, you would have won here.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.