please correct me if I am wrong:

No Limit Texas Holdem

5 players at the table. Each has bankroll of $1000. SB = $1. BB = $2.

  • Player1 = BTN
  • Player2 = SB
  • Player3 = BB
  • Player4 = UTG1
  • Player5 = MP1


  1. PL2 - sb - $1.
  2. PL3 - bb - $2.
  3. PL4 - call - $2.
  4. PL5 - call - $2.
  5. PL1 - call - $2.


I assume that if PL1 want to do minimum raise he must do:

PL1 - raise - $4.

and preflop must go another turn.

In poker rules is written: Minimum raise: In No Limit Hold'em, the raise amount must be at least as much as the previous bet or raise in the same round.

(On some websites about poker I saw that PL1 must do $5 raise. They say that at first he must put $1 to call and then $4 to raise. I think it is wrong. I do not provide links to that website to avoid spread of potentially incorrect information).

Am I right?

1 Answer 1


Since you didn't engage any money yet if you call you would do $2 but the minimum amount for a raise there is $4 since the $2 is from the max amount that was bet in the table and the next amount you can place is $2(max bet)+$2(BB).


Some casino's might have some rules and sometimes they aren't the same as in other casino's.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.