1

Table cards: 5:spades:6:hearts:7:spades:8:hearts:2:spades:

P1 hand: 9:hearts: 6:spades:

P2 hand: 9:diamonds: 3:spades:

Both players have the same straight. Is this a split? Or does P1 win because he has 2 cards of the straight directly in his hand while P2 only has the missing 9? Are cards which are in hand prioritized over cards on the table?

2
  • I knew this rule. Was not sure if this was an exception though. Thanks anyway!
    – OschtärEi
    Commented Mar 15, 2015 at 13:40
  • There are no exceptions to the top five cards rule.
    – Paul
    Commented Mar 16, 2015 at 16:50

1 Answer 1

1

Yes it is a split because both player have the same hand. best five of seven cards to make your best hand is absolute in Hold'em. Rather you use one card, two cards or no cards from your hole cards it is still the best five of seven cards.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.