1

This question already has an answer here:

Table cards: 5:spades:6:hearts:7:spades:8:hearts:2:spades:

P1 hand: 9:hearts: 6:spades:

P2 hand: 9:diamonds: 3:spades:

Both players have the same straight. Is this a split? Or does P1 win because he has 2 cards of the straight directly in his hand while P2 only has the missing 9? Are cards which are in hand prioritized over cards on the table?

marked as duplicate by Jon, Community Mar 15 '15 at 13:40

This question has been asked before and already has an answer. If those answers do not fully address your question, please ask a new question.

  • I knew this rule. Was not sure if this was an exception though. Thanks anyway! – OschtärEi Mar 15 '15 at 13:40
  • There are no exceptions to the top five cards rule. – Paul Mar 16 '15 at 16:50
1

Yes it is a split because both player have the same hand. best five of seven cards to make your best hand is absolute in Hold'em. Rather you use one card, two cards or no cards from your hole cards it is still the best five of seven cards.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.