4

Hey i hold a weekly texas holdem at friends house and we had some confusiom twice now on couple straights. So player 1 had Q-8 and player two had Q-10 and the board came down J-10-4-K-A. Since both players hit the straight and showed Queen we went down to second card where player 2 had hit the more natural straight hand with the 10 in hand we decided he won. What would be the official ruling split pot or would player 2 have the hand?

  • 1
  • 5
    Bad ruling. Once again, for the hundredth time, repeat after me: POKER HANDS HAVE FIVE CARDS. Exactly five, no more, no fewer. Each of these players had an Ace-high straight, and they should split the pot. Any sixth or seventh card they may have is irrelevant. – Lee Daniel Crocker Sep 14 '15 at 15:57
  • @Grinch91 Its the correct redirection, but I wont close it as its an example of the rule rather than an explanation of the rule itself. – Toby Booth Sep 14 '15 at 22:48
  • @michael it's a home game and the guy is here asking for help when something didn't make sense. There's no need to go overboard. When you don't play poker frequently some of these things aren't self-evident. – Chris Farmer Sep 15 '15 at 4:36
  • @ChrisFarmer Sorry, that was paraphrasing a quote from a cartoon. I withdraw the comment. – user1934 Sep 15 '15 at 16:19
9

I think this question is a little different than the usual question that needs the standard Best Five Cards answer. In this question, the nuance is whether player 2 gets any special consideration for having his 10 counterfeited. Does player 2 get some sort of bonus for being able to play both of his cards to make the best five-card hand, while player 1 could use only one of his cards to make the same hand?

Nope. Both players have the same hand, regardless of how they got there.

7

That was the wrong way to do it.

It should have been a split pot. They both had the same best five card hand.

0

Just a sidenote - in Pot Limit Omaha, where you are forced to use exactly two cards from your 4-card hole cards and three from the board, QT would have won obviously. In holdem however, one can use 0,1, or 2 of the holecards to form a 5-card combination.

I cannot remember where I read it, bu there is a holdem variant that urges to use both of your holecards. Obviously under those rules again, QT would have won.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.