Hey i hold a weekly texas holdem at friends house and we had some confusiom twice now on couple straights. So player 1 had Q-8 and player two had Q-10 and the board came down J-10-4-K-A. Since both players hit the straight and showed Queen we went down to second card where player 2 had hit the more natural straight hand with the 10 in hand we decided he won. What would be the official ruling split pot or would player 2 have the hand?
I think this question is a little different than the usual question that needs the standard Best Five Cards answer. In this question, the nuance is whether player 2 gets any special consideration for having his 10 counterfeited. Does player 2 get some sort of bonus for being able to play both of his cards to make the best five-card hand, while player 1 could use only one of his cards to make the same hand?
Nope. Both players have the same hand, regardless of how they got there.
Just a sidenote - in Pot Limit Omaha, where you are forced to use exactly two cards from your 4-card hole cards and three from the board, QT would have won obviously. In holdem however, one can use 0,1, or 2 of the holecards to form a 5-card combination.
I cannot remember where I read it, bu there is a holdem variant that urges to use both of your holecards. Obviously under those rules again, QT would have won.