-1

I have been told that an ace can be used at the bottom of a strait even if the lowest card is not a 2. Is this true? For example: 9,8,7,6,A...is this an actual poker hand?

closed as off-topic by paparazzo, Radu Murzea Mar 4 '16 at 8:02

  • This question does not appear to be about poker within the scope defined in the help center.
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • Really an ace is like a semi joker? I think a range of questions is good for this site but that is outside my range. -1 – paparazzo Mar 4 '16 at 2:46
  • 1
    I'm voting to close this question as off-topic because just silly – paparazzo Mar 4 '16 at 2:47
  • 1
    It's straight, and where did you hear that? -1 for lack of effort. – Herb Wolfe Mar 4 '16 at 5:09
  • I'm voting to close this question as off-topic because the answer is one extremely simple Google search away. – Radu Murzea Mar 4 '16 at 8:02
  • @RaduMurzea I am going to vote to reopen because the use of the Ace for straights is not intuitive or logical to new players, and also not duplicate to hand reading questions. – Jon Mar 5 '16 at 20:45
2

That's a hand but not a straight. That's an ace high. An ace can be used at the bottom end of a wheel (slang for a five high straight), A-2-3-4-5 or at the top end of an ace high straight such as 10-J-Q-K-A. It cannot be used to fill in any other straights with conventional poker hands.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.