My table had a question about all in.

Player A has a remaining bank roll of $100 and Player B has $50 remaining. It is player A's bet, and he says "all in" and pushes his chips into the middle. It is the river, and no bets have been made this round.

Player B only has $50, and says "all in" as well.

Player B ends up winning, does he win Player A's whole $100 or only $50?

Thank you, Best, Seth


You can never win more from a given player than you bet. Neither can you win more from them than they bet.

Player B bet $50 and only had $50 at risk, and so can only win $50 from B. Player B is technically "all in for less" and the dealer will sometimes call it as such to make it clear that Player B didn't call the whole amount.

If there was a Player C also in the pot for at least $50 and Player B still won, she would also win $50 from Player C. In that case, supposing Player C had $100 in the pot, then whoever had the better hand between Player C and Player A would win the remaining $50.

| improve this answer | |

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.