In a tournament a player went all in. Stated I am going to throw this away and walked 10 feet to the trash can and came back. The other player stated hand abandonment his hand is dead. As the "house" I ruled his hand is live and he wins the pot.

I have seen in the WSOP players all-in walk all over and no one has an issue. So was I correct? What is hand abandonment?

1 Answer 1


"A hand may be considered and mucked if player is not at his seat" - WSOP rules. This is hand abandonment. "At his seat" is defined as touching or in reach of one's seat. However, this rule only applies in a situation where your hand can be mucked.

It is not possible to fold when you are all-in for a variety of reasons, not the least of which is it would make collusion quite easy and there is never a reason to fold all-in. Due to this rule, a player cannot abandon his all-in hand as they do not have the option to fold. You were correct. Good job!

  • 100% correct. Hand cannot be dead if a player's tournament life is at risk. +1
    – Grinch91
    Commented Aug 20, 2016 at 11:09

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service and acknowledge you have read our privacy policy.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.