I am in big blind and get dealt AA. 8 players remain at my table in a MTT. Blinds are at 400, 800, with a 75 ante. Average chip stacks are ~20k.
Aggressive player (villain) in mid position calls the blind, 3 others limp in. I raise to 2,400. Villain calls, all others fold. Flop comes KK9 rainbow. I bet (a value bet, and to check where I am) 3,000. Villain declares that he has a king and shoves all in for more than my remaining stack. I would not have put it past this guy's range to be playing a K9 even.
After lengthy contemplation I fold and he shows a bluff with a Q8.
- Should I have shoved on the flop (risking villain has a king) before he declares that he has a K and becomes the aggressor? In hindsight, with knowledge of what was to come, then yes of course.
- Should I have shoved pre-flop? Not much of a pot to pick up at that point
- Should I have called villain's all-in?
- I appreciate the cards ultimately do the talking, but should there not be a rule against false hand declaration to influence others to fold?