2

I forgot to burn any cards playing Texas Hold 'em. This was pointed out by someone else after the hand was finished. I thought it should have been a miss deal, but the guy who won the hand insisted I pay him the all in of $25. What should we have really done and is there a rule on this?

  • 3
    If you said call you pay. It is not a miss deal after the action the action is over. – paparazzo Sep 20 '16 at 6:00
  • There is never a misdeal after the hand is finished without highly unusual circumstances, like cheating and weapons drawn. – Jon Sep 23 '16 at 11:14
3

This isn't explicitly a misdeal as per the TDA rules, to quote:

A: Misdeals include but are not necessarily limited to: 1) 2 or more boxed cards on the initial deal; 2) first card dealt to the wrong seat; 3) cards dealt to a seat not entitled to a hand; 4) a seat entitled to a hand is dealt out; 5) In stud, if any of the first 2 down cards are exposed by dealer error; 6) In flop games, if either of the first 2 cards dealt off the deck or any other 2 downcards are exposed by dealer error. House standards apply for draw games (ex: lowball).

If you've gone as far as to play to a winner, it is far less disruptive to let the hand stand than to declare it a misdeal. Pay the man his money and move on to the next hand, dealing properly.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.