1

Board: A 4 5 7 J

Two players declare a low.

Player A: 3 4 x x

Player B: A 3 x x

Both players have the same low hand: A 3 4 5 7

Is this a tie or does Player B win with lower cards in his hand?

4

It's a tie. Win/loss is always dependent on 5 cards. The only times differences in hand cards matter is when determining who gets the extra chip(s) in a split pot. (Though some casinos go by position instead of hand cards for this.)

| improve this answer | |
  • Great answer. For what it's worth, in the UK I've only ever seen odd chips in a split pot awarded based on position (earliest position getting the extra chip) and never on hand content. However, there's very little O8 in the UK, so maybe there's somewhat of a game-specific divide as well as a geographical or cultural one. – 3N1GM4 Jan 7 '17 at 10:50
  • @3N1GM4 - I probably should have said "Though most casinos go by position instead of hand cards". I think I've only seen suits determining the extra chip in one casino, and it was actually hold'em not O8, but I assume they would have had the same rule for O8 too (if there are multiple high hands and an extra chip). – TTT Jan 7 '17 at 14:49

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.