In a no limit holdem game player A, first to act bets $15. Player B raises to $45. Player C places $30 in front of him. The dealer says you are $15 short, player C then declares all in. The floor rules since player C had not completed action, the all in was a legal raise. Did the floor rule correctly?
Player C places $30 in front of him. a couple of issues here, as it needs to be clarified whether player did know/do or not, but let's figure out and explore possibilities:
- Were the chips actually in front of him AND over the betting line (OP never said 'thrown' or 'put in the pot') or just 'in front of him' (therefore, not in play) ?
- If any betting line on the table, was it requiered by the casino/house to use it, according to their local rules/policy ?
- Were bets placed in front of the player's cards ?
- Did 'player C' say something before he took the chips ?
- Was 'player C' aware of the amount of the raise ?
if player C has crossed the line with his chips, it seems like an incorrect ruling, and should have been a call, otherwise, correct ruling is still at stake, as action can be seen as not fully completed. In this case, dealer should not interfere before the player ended his move.
As far as 2005, there already was arguing about the betting line rule (ref: The Hendon Mob)
In some cases, players can be allowed to change their mind (When a player releases chips into the pot, they are committed to completing the bet and must complete the amount. In the case that a raise was made that a player was unaware of, they may reconsider their action if no one else has acted subsequently ref: WSOP tournament rule)
NOTE: the above can be (or not) a stated rule in CG (check local policy)
Related / Reference :
CP rules of poker: A player who bets or calls by releasing chips into the pot is bound by that action. However, if you are unaware that the pot has been raised, you may withdraw that money and reconsider your action, provided that no one else has acted after you