I wanted to practice my implied and pot odds calculating skills and found this website online http://www.philnolimits.com/uploads/8/1/8/9/8189328/practice_pot_odds_and_expected_value_problems.pdf And it had this problem which I think was wrong:
You have $50 remaining in a cash game and you flop a small flush draw. There is
$30 in the pot and your opponent goes all in. Should you call with your flush draw?
The only way you can win is to hit the flush on the turn or the river.
The answer was right but the thought process looked flawed. It goes like:
First, use the Rule of Four. You have 9 outs with two cards to come. 9 x 4 = 36%.
You have about a 36% chance of making your flush and winning the pot. $30 (pot) + $50 (his bet) + $50 (your call) = $130 total pot. You have to call $50 to win $130. $50 (your call) / $130 (total pot after your call) = 38% So, by a slim margin, you should fold.
I mean you shouldn't take into consideration your 50$ bet into the amount you win. I think it should be like 30$ + 50$ = 80$ pot and you have to bet 50$, so your getting 8 to 5 odds to call there. Am wrong or is this article flawed?