Environment: local friendly game, no limit tournament rules.
4 players remaining, player 1 is the sole, big blind. Players 2 & 3 mucked their hands and player 4 (dealer) called.
The dealer burns a card, waiting on player 1 to check or raise. Player 1 bet 2500, and player 4 called.
Dealer now burns another card & deals the flop. Player 1 checked, player 4 bet to put Player 1 all in. Player 1 called.
The turn and river are dealt without incident. Player 4 is declared the winner and started collecting chips. Player 1 noticed an extra card in the muck and declared a misdeal.
Is the hand over? Is it a misdeal?
Rule 83 states: if substantial action occurs, a misdeal cannot be declared and the hand must proceed. Substantial Action is either
- Any 2 actions in turn at least one of which puts chips in the pot (I.e. any 2 actions except 2 checks or 2 folds)
- Any combinations of three actions intern (check, bet, raise, call, or fold).