Questions tagged [reading-hands]

The skill of reading a player to determine relational hand strength.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
2
votes
2answers
94 views

Good fold or losing play? AK on AK988

Live 2/5 NLH, 8 handed. Splashy and trappy UTG (900) limps. Hero (4000) in UTG+1 is dealt AhKd and raises to 30. ATC HJ (3300) calls 30, tight passive SB (1600) calls 30, BB folds, UTG calls 30. ...
1
vote
2answers
92 views

What is your read about this hand?

It's $1/$3 no limit holdem. I had $450 stack. I had A⋄J⋄ in early position. PreFlop: I raised to $15. A mid position player with large stack size (about $700) re-raised to $45 Everyone folded to me. ...
2
votes
1answer
96 views

What should I do when I have AKo UTG against a quite loose player and this happens

I have just sat down at a table, and I read someone as quite loose but quite passive using Poker Tracker 4. I don't think I had enough data so that is my first mistake. Here is the hand history and I ...
0
votes
1answer
165 views

I wanted to know, if I can beat the dealers hand in poker?

Dealers hand: Qs Qc 3d 6c 9s 1st hand: 4s 5c 6s Kd Ah 5th hand: 5d 6d Jh Kh Ac 2nd hand: 2c 9c Tc Kc Ad 6th hand: 2d 4c 8d 9h Qd 3rd hand: 4h 5h 7h 9d Jd 7th hand: 3s 6h Ts Qh Ks 4th hand: ...
5
votes
1answer
131 views

Knowing whether to continue after calculating outs percentage

I am very new to poker and have been reading articles about how to calculate outs. For example if I have a flush draw on the flop then I have a 35% chance of hitting one of my 9 outs on the turn or ...
3
votes
3answers
163 views

Small Stakes NLH 1-2 $300 Cap - What did villain have?

This is a newly formed $300 max $1-$2 No-Limit 10 man live game. I am in the small blind with: 8♥ 7♥ It goes fold, fold, limp, limp, raise to $12(villain), call, call, I call, $11, ...
1
vote
2answers
114 views

Hand analysis - all in

This was on The Poker Guys and they titled it Train Wreck. This is WSOP Main Event 12 players left so you would expect better play. 6 handed. I think the BB is 200 plus antes. Kopp UTG deep ...
1
vote
2answers
353 views

Who wins Higher flush or Straight + Flush [duplicate]

1st hand: Q♣️ K♠️ 2nd hand: 7♦️ 6♠️ Table: Q♠️ 5♣️ 4♠️ 8♠️ 10♠️ Who wins this??
3
votes
2answers
397 views

Called me with nothing

I was playing 0.1/0.2 game. I get dealt QTo. I missclick-limped. My opponent raised to 0.8, I call(I did wrong I think). At this point I know that my opponent is very tight-aggressive. Basically ...
0
votes
1answer
187 views

Why did I lose with my pair of fives? [duplicate]

Can you help me understand this situation: I held the 5⋄ 8♥ and thought that my pair of 5s would give me the victory?
-1
votes
2answers
101 views

How many outs do I have with T7 on a KT3 flop?

If I have T7 and the flop is T 3 K, how many outs would I have? Would it be 2 out (2xT), or 5 outs (2xT, 3x7), or some other number?
-1
votes
1answer
3k views

Both players has full house, who should win? [duplicate]

We were playing texas hold'em and the cards on the table ended with 3 jacks and a couple of 4's. On my hand was a pair of six. My opponent had a 4 and an 8. The other 2 folded My opponent said that ...
1
vote
1answer
61 views

Same low with different hole cards - who wins?

Board: A 4 5 7 J Two players declare a low. Player A: 3 4 x x Player B: A 3 x x Both players have the same low hand: A 3 4 5 7 Is this a tie or does Player B win with lower cards in his hand?
-1
votes
2answers
35k views

Who wins when two players both have a flush? [duplicate]

Who wins when two players have a flush? For example, say the first player also has two pair, one in their hand (two 3's), and one on the board (two 8's). The second player has AQ, with the same pair ...
-1
votes
1answer
90 views

Which hand wins at showdown? [duplicate]

Board - 9963A Hand 1 - 36 Hand 2 - A8 Which hand wins and why?
3
votes
4answers
413 views

When is a hand considered over

When 2 players are all in and hand is completed dealt. Players turn over the cards and one player has 3 of a kind and the other players has A high. The five turned up cards on table are picked up ...
0
votes
1answer
102 views

ok this has happened twice... i need reassurance [duplicate]

Player 1: has 7,7 both cards black Player 2: has K diamond 3 spades Flop all diamonds Includes Ace. Player 1 swears it's split because the flop has ace high. I tried to explain the best 5 cards are ...
2
votes
2answers
134 views

How I should analyze my game?

I started reviewing my sessions for improve my game but I'm feeling a bit skeptical because I can't answer my own questions. I mark the most problematic hands or when I got doubts, but when I'm ...
1
vote
0answers
23 views

Winning Hand Argument [duplicate]

Our group is having a disagreement about who wins the hand in the following scenario: Player 1: A, 5 Player 2: A, 2 Board has A, 5, 9, 9, 3 I called the hand as follows: both Players having a pair ...
3
votes
2answers
123 views

Observing the table

This is my main weakness in poker. The rest can be learnt over time but when it comes down to making tough decisions, you gotta stick to what you know about your opponent. So this question is what ...
9
votes
3answers
11k views

How to determine the winning hands in poker?

It seems especially to newer players that what constitutes a winning hand, what the best five cards are, can be confusing. So exactly what hand is the winner and why does it win?
3
votes
2answers
1k views

Mucking hand face up

Need some help here please heres the scenerio Seat 4 and seat 5 are all in..2 pair on board. Seat 5 says to seat 4 you win you have the ace and shows his hand but does NOT table the hand.He then ...
2
votes
1answer
357 views

Straight draw in heads up?

With a stack of 3000, 50/100 blinds, I was holding: 2 4 (not suited) I'm big blind in a heads up game. Opponent matches the big blind, so I end up playing a hand I'd never play otherwise. Flop:...
1
vote
1answer
10k views

Two playes have same straight but one has two cards of it in hand [duplicate]

Table cards: 5:spades:6:hearts:7:spades:8:hearts:2:spades: P1 hand: 9:hearts: 6:spades: P2 hand: 9:diamonds: 3:spades: Both players have the same straight. Is this a split? Or does P1 win because ...
2
votes
1answer
388 views

Can I use the board's cards to have the best kicker?

I have 9,6. He has 9,7. The board is 4,4,10,9,3; suits don't matter for this hand. Is this a split pot using two pair, 4s and 9s with the 10 on the board as the best kicker for both of us? Or does he ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Two Pair - what beats what [duplicate]

In two pair - would a Queen Seven two pair, beat a queen three, two pair on the board. Is it both cards that count or, or just the highest card? I suppose the lowest card would not count in a two ...
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Kicker cards - and splitting pots

I don't understand that when sometimes I play, instead of a pot being split as I would anticipate, one one player gets the full pot. Even if the best hand seems to be in the middle - i.e - a pair. ...
2
votes
1answer
432 views

The loser has a 2 pair over a one pair

How does rubina win ? How does inclinations lose the hand. Inclinations seems to have 2 pair vs one pair.
3
votes
1answer
135 views

Playing PL Omaha

The 5 cards on deck were - 6⋄ T♣ 6♠ K⋄ 4♠ I held a 6 and a king in my deck resulting in a full house hand. Bet all in, and lost to these opponents cards: T♥...
7
votes
2answers
3k views

Hands when playing Omaha

When playing Omaha If the community cards have 3 nines come up and I hold the 4th nine can I claim four of a kind?
3
votes
1answer
585 views

Split Pot question?

The shared cards on the table are 7,9,10,J,Q of Random suits with no flush possibility. One player has 8,8 and the other has 8,9. Is this a split pot since they both have a straight of 8-Q? Or does ...
5
votes
1answer
280 views

I lost and i dont get why, can any one help?

Was just playing some free poker and i don't get why i lost On the board there was a 9♣K⋄3♣4♠K♠. My opponent had Q⋄9♠. I had 9♥3♠ i have ...
9
votes
1answer
194k views

Can an Ace be low in a straight?

I was under the impression that, in Texas Holdem, "Aces are always high". However, I have been playing online and I noticed that aces are used in a low straight (A, 2, 3, 4, 5). Was I mistaken that "...
2
votes
2answers
364 views

Should this hold'em pot be split?

Say I have a 10 and Q. Opponent has a 10 and K. On the table there is 10 2 3 4 A Is this a split pot, as we both have a pair of 10s, and then we both use the Ace? Or does the tie-breaker always ...
6
votes
6answers
2k views

Is there a rule variation where only a single high card (not 2nd,3rd etc.) is used to resolve 2 flush hands?

We were playing Texas hold'em, but didnt clearly define which variations are acceptable in our game. Board: K♠ 7♠ 4♠ 3♠ 4⋄ Player 1 : 2♠ J⋄ Player ...
-2
votes
1answer
76 views

Split staight between players [closed]

i need some help there were on the table staight - 8,9,10,J,Q i had J and Q and the other player had 7 and A is this split ? thanks
5
votes
3answers
1k views

In what situations will you lose the low-pot in Omaha Hi/Lo while holding Ace-Deuce?

In Omaha hi low, will holding an Ace and a Deuce card automatically give you the "nut low" hand in the event of a qualifying low hand?
-1
votes
1answer
63 views

Have a question about texas holdm questions [closed]

if the table has Q9922 and there are three players playing. P1= 10 6 p2= 10 8 p3= 6 5 who takes the pot..
1
vote
3answers
878 views

Texas Hold'Em Fullhouse Battle

Which one wins? I had 77 in my hand. He had J8 in his hand. Community Cards on table: 8 8 7 2 2 So who wins here?
3
votes
1answer
2k views

Texas hold'em: Why did I lose this hand?

I was playing Texas hold'em in WSoP 2008: Battle for the Bracelets. It came down to me and one other player, and I lost but I don't know why. Her hand: T♥J♥ My hand: J♠J♣ Flop: T♠Q♦K♣A♠A♦ It looks ...
-4
votes
3answers
833 views

Do two A's beat a wheel straight? [closed]

Playing Hold'em poker and had a 10-J in hand, 9-Q-A on the table. Opponent held A-4 and won with a pair of A's. I thought I would win with the straight. Not so?
14
votes
3answers
137k views

Does the "top 5 cards" rule apply to a flush? [duplicate]

Okay, so the scenario is: 7♥ 8♥ 9♥ T♥ and 3♠ on the table Alice has a 5♥ Bob has a 4♥ Who wins? Both of them have a flush to 10, right? Does the sum of the entire 5 cards count in this case?
9
votes
1answer
557 views

Why did I lose this hand?

I was playing hold 'em and there was a show down. The board was: K:diamonds: 2:diamonds: J:diamonds: 8:diamonds: 6:diamonds: My opponent had: 9:diamonds: T:diamonds: and I had: 7:spades: J:clubs:...
6
votes
1answer
268 views

Does This Qualify As A Split Pot?

My partner and I are fighting about this. I had 10 and something, don't remember and he had 3 and 2. On the table : 10 J Q K A. I think I win with my 10 completing my straight but he said we had to ...
19
votes
6answers
127k views

What is the"Top Five Cards" rule and how does it apply to splitting pots?

Before you answer the question I will give a scenario that confused me thus prompting this question. The other week I was playing a game and we had this scenario : 8 players - down to me and a pal ...