Questions tagged [side-pots]

A portion of the pot which is unattainable by at least one active player, due to said player not having enough chips to call the full bet.

Filter by
Sorted by
Tagged with
19
votes
6answers
19k views

How are side pots built?

While playing online, in a lot of situations side pots are built. This happens if one or more players goes all-in but I can't figure out the rules on which these side pots are built. The only thing I ...
16
votes
6answers
4k views

Why can't folded hands compete for sidepots?

I'm just wondering the rationale for preventing folded players from competing in sidepots. My feeling is that once a player has as much in the pot as an all-in player, they should be allowed to ...
6
votes
1answer
360 views

Order for revealing hands with multiple side pots in play

The scenario (6 players): Flop: Player A is all-in ($50) Player B is all-in ($50) 4 others call. Turn: Player C is all-in ($100) Player D is all-in ($100) River: Player E (the button)...
5
votes
2answers
4k views

Complex split pot semantics for multiple All-In winners with differing amounts

I'm writing a Poker Server piece of software and well, I want it to be accurate... Basically I want to know what the correct way to deal with this following situation is: [ second round of betting. ...
4
votes
1answer
510 views

Player allowed to play for main pot after folding during side pot action?

There are three players: A, B and A has $25, B has $50, and C has $100 A goes all-in B and C call Later in the hand, C makes B fold Now, as B folded, will B be allowed to play for the main pot?...
4
votes
3answers
456 views

Ante + BB all-in, what can the BB win?

How are the pots computed when in a tournament deal when the big blind posts his full ante but then doesn't have enough to post his big blind? To take a concrete example, here's a hand history from a ...
4
votes
1answer
469 views

All-ins and folds: what happens to folded money?

I am trying to write a small, but complex, Texas Hold 'Em game in C++. I've come very close to the end. I'm at the part of determining winners, and payouts. Suffice it to say, I underestimated the ...
2
votes
2answers
1k views

Who gets the side pot?

I was dealing in a live private game...NLHE... Three players were in a hand. One shortstacker (player3) was already all in preflop. So after the flop the other two players took action and built a side ...
2
votes
1answer
252 views

How would the main and sidepot split in this situation?

This is suppose a timeslice stopped at the showdown, to calculate the pot split and side pots and all.. Player A: 200 staked, folded in earlier rounds (not eligible to win) Player B: 600 all in ...
2
votes
2answers
260 views

Poker side pots and dead money

I m wondering something about side pots calculation. I m gonna explain with an example to make it clear: Player 1 (stack 100) | Player 2 (stack 100) | Player 3 (stack 25) --- Flop Player 3 goes all ...
2
votes
2answers
149 views

Side pots without eligible winners

If player A and B have bet $1000 and C is all in for $500, and then player A folds, does B win the side pot of $1000 instantly or does he have to play it to the end first? If it's the latter case, ...
2
votes
1answer
42 views

How many side pots possible in case of n player table (assuming n to be any number)

When number of players are 2 then there is only 1 pot possible that is main pot but as the number of players increases there can be more pots possible, So my question is how many pots are possible in ...
1
vote
1answer
280 views

Why did i win a portion of pot in this hand?

I am the player with the hand Q♠T⋄. After the turn, I was thinking that anyone with a 4 would win the full pot. I am surprised that I won 286 of the pot. Can someone please explain how ...
1
vote
1answer
64 views

What happens (or is it possible) when there's sidepots that have no players competing for them?

I'm wondering let's say this situation: at the flop: (mainpot: 400) P1. All in 100 P2. All in 50 P3. Rise 200 P4. Call 200 If I'm right, that would give us: Mainpot: (400 + (50*4))-> p1,p2,p3,...
1
vote
1answer
57 views

Are sidepots created at each turn, or at the end of the round? [duplicate]

Im wondering, in hold'em, when sidepots are created/calculated, is it at the end of each player's turn or at the end of the round? thanks!
1
vote
1answer
80 views

All in situation with side pot [duplicate]

Following situation: Player 1: 100$ Player 2: 100$ Playe 3: 50$ Player 1 makes "all in" - all other players call. So I guess it's main pot: 150$ Side pot (for p1 and p2): 100$ Player 3 wins. ...
0
votes
2answers
896 views

Side pot with fold

Player A all in for 40 Player B raise to 80 Player C raise to 200 Player B fold Player A wins hand Player A would get 120 ? Player C would get 200 ? Just checking? Is there some weird logic ...
0
votes
1answer
341 views

side pot scenario

What happens if we have 4 players at the table with the following bets -player1 10$ - all-in - Cards: 9d, 5h -player2 50$ - all-in - Cards: 9h, 4h -player3 100$ not all-in - Cards:2d,Kc ...