The scenario is tournament poker at a Las Vegas poker room. Two players are in the hand. Player "A" in first position checks. Player "B" goes all in. Player "A" calls and turns over his cards, player "B" sees that he is beat and attempts to muck his hand. As he tosses his cards in, I take them and start to pull them into the muck when another player pipes up saying hey the hand has to be turned over. ( I am the dealer). At this point I stop, the hand is technically not dead, I call for a decision from the tournament director.
As an aside, it was really stupid for player "B" to muck. Player "A" had AK, and player "B" had pocket sixes, there was an ace on board, player B had a couple outs.
The rule is when players go all in the hands are turned up.
The question(s) are:
Can the player muck the hand?
If the player concedes the hand, must the cards be shown face up?
If the cards must be shown face up, is the players hand live, or is the dealer to kill the hand before turning it up?
In this particular case Player "B" stayed seated. Another player at the table after things were all over said if he really wanted to go, he should of just walked away without throwing the cards in. I thought this interesting and it brings up another question, would this make a difference with the TD's ruling?
The TD ruled the hand had too be turned up, I asked is it live and he said yes the hand was live.
I agree that the hand should of been turned up, because this rule is in place to help stop chip dumping. I did not think the hand should of been live.
(The AK hand held up BTW)